“光棍节”对支付服务以及金融犯罪筛查的影响


与美国的“黑色星期五”(Black Friday)及“网络星期一”(Cyber Monday)相比,中国的“光棍节”作为世界上最大的购物活动之一再次创下了消费记录。2019 年双十一凭借 384 亿美元的销售额,毫无悬念地成为了迄今为止规模最大的“光棍节”。

每年的 11 月 11 日,是许多中国年轻人庆祝单身的节日。如今这一潮流已持续了 10 年,并已风靡整个亚太地区,在消费者群体中大受欢迎,被视为一年一度的购物狂欢。

整个东南亚约有两亿六千万消费者,因此对当地零售商而言,前景极为乐观。研究 表明,预计到 2020 年,该地区国家将有望实现超过 50 亿美元的在线销售额。

试想一下,这种爆发式购物热潮将给零售商的系统和运营造成怎样的压力。零售商必须优化他们的购物网站,才能有效处理在线活动所产生的巨大流量。

与此同时,网上交易的盛行也给银行和支付服务提供商(PSP)带来了一定压力,他们必须寻求新的方式来应对急速上升的支付需求,并维持较高的服务水平,以满足客户的期望。

消费热潮的背后隐藏着哪些与支付相关的业务?

通常,在支付交易发出或收到之前要进行客户尽职调查。作为“了解客户”(KYC)流程的一部分,银行和 PSP 必须对买家(对付款工具或服务有需求)以及卖家(对收款工具或服务有需求)的帐户进行筛查。

初始尽职调查的范围和深度视客户风险状况而定,同时也取决于所提供服务的性质。其最终目标是确保服务不会被滥用于非法资金的转移。

在类似“光棍节”这样的购物节日里,由于客户新开账户数量的激增,PSP 将面临反洗钱、反恐怖主义融资(AML-CFT)以及制裁合规等诸多挑战。

如其未能拦截受制裁实体或侦测到非法金融活动,则可能招致相关机构的调查、行政处罚甚至是名誉损害。

但是,尽职调查在准入环节后仍将继续,而且还要求PSP 持续监控其客户的活动,特别是通过交易监控以及筛查等方式。根据交易性质(即:国内或跨境交易)以及支付交易的类型(即:借记卡支付或电汇),银行或 PSP 可能还须核实、监控及共享付款方和收款方完整准确信息的要求。由于须依据相关制裁名单进行筛查,付款人和受益人进行筛查,因此其的身份信息至关重要。

如果符合制裁条件,PSP 就必须执行制裁措施,因此可能需要阻止付款或冻结帐户,以及拒绝或暂停付款,并向有关部门报告。

实时筛查的优点

鉴于交易量的大幅增加以及支付服务的变化,银行和 PSP 需要能针对突发事件自动进行灵活调整的系统,依照标准业务量搭建的体系已无法满足其要求。

实时筛查功能有助于实时提高筛查效率,在客户及交易量激增的情况下仍保持原有速度,同时不影响匹配的准确性。这将有助于为客户提供快速、平稳的交易体验。

PSP 还可以考虑使用云技术以及互联网扩展技术来应对不同的交易量。这种方法可以降低筛查方案的总成本,且不需要对现有基础设施进行全面改革。

随着网购持续迎来变革,消费者的购物偏好可能会发生变化,但这既不会阻止也不会减缓非法金融活动的猖獗之势。

银行和 PSP 需要利用恰当的支付服务和客户筛查流程来加强合规工作,从而满足客户的交易需求,尤其是在“光棍节”、“黑色星期五”以及“网络星期一”等购物狂欢节所引发的消费热潮中。

虽然“光棍节”创下了突破性的销售记录,但今年美国“网络星期一”和圣诞节之间的购物日也例外“缩水”,谁将成为年度销售战的最终赢家,我们还将拭目以待。不管怎样,鉴于零售商正争相从全球购物者手中争抢份额,跨境支付的重要性不言而喻。而最有竞争力的,始终是那些在不同国家和地区都能遵守相关监管规定的 PSP。

The Impact of Singles’ Day on Payment Services and Financial Crime Screening


Rivalling the United States’ Black Friday and Cyber Monday as one of the largest shopping events in the world, China’s “Singles’ Day”, also known as “Guanggun Jie”, has once again broken records. With USD38.4 billion in sales, 2019 has lived up to expectations as the largest-ever Singles’ Day to date.

Taking place on 11 November, the holiday is observed by many young Chinese people in celebration of being single. However, the trend has caught on across Asia Pacific, and now, in its 10th year, consumers are embracing the date to take advantage of the shopping bonanza.

The outlook is rosy for retailers in Southeast Asia particularly, where there are approximately 260 million shoppers. Research has shown that countries in this region are expected to have an online purchasing market of more than USD5 billion by 2020.

Imagine then, the strain of this sudden influx of shopping activity on retailers’ systems and operations. Retailers have to optimise their online sites to effectively handle the volume of online traffic.

Meanwhile, the deluge of online transactions sets off a flurry of activity behind the scenes for banks and payment service providers (PSPs), who need to find new ways to cope with the surge in payments, whilst maintaining the service levels customers expect.

What Happens Behind the Scenes?

Customer due diligence typically begins before any payment transactions can be issued or received. As part of their know-your-customer (KYC) processes, banks and PSPs must screen the accounts of both buyers (subscribing to payment instruments or services) and sellers (subscribing to payment acquisition instruments or services).

The scope and depth of initial due diligence will vary based on the customer risk profile but also the nature of the services provided. The ultimate goal is to ensure services are not misused for facilitating the transfer of illegal funds.

On shopping festival days like Singles’ Day, PSPs will face a challenging time for anti-money laundering and counter financing of terrorism (AML-CFT) and sanctions compliance because of the explosion of new customer accounts being created.

If they fail to block any sanctioned entities or detect illicit financial activity, it could result in investigation, enforcement action and reputational damage.

But due diligence continues beyond the onboarding phase and PSPs are also required to monitor their customers’ activities on an ongoing basis, notably through transaction monitoring and screening. Depending on the nature of a transaction (i.e., domestic or cross-border), or on the type of payment transaction (i.e., debit-card payment or electronic wire transfers), the bank or PSP may also have to face the requirement of ensuring, monitoring and sharing complete and accurate information on the sender and the recipient. Both the payer and the beneficiary’s identifying information are critical as they must then be screened against a relevant set of sanctions lists

Should there be a sanctions match, PSPs would need to enforce the sanction measure which may require them to block the payment or freeze the account, reject or suspend payments, and report it to the relevant authority.

Advantages of Instant Screening

Given the huge influx of transactions, and the changing landscape in payment services, banks and PSPs require systems that can flexibly and automatically adjust to the increased and sudden activity, rather than be limited by architectures that have been built according to standard business throughput.

With instant screening capabilities, they can accelerate the throughput of records in real time, maintaining speed whenever customer and transaction volumes surge, without compromising the accuracy of matches. This will facilitate a fast and frictionless experience for their customers.

PSPs can also consider utilising cloud technology and internet scaling techniques to handle varying volumes. This approach could reduce the total cost of ownership of the screening solution and would not require overhauls to legacy infrastructure.

Consumers’ preferences for shopping may evolve as online purchasing continues to be disrupted, but it will neither stop nor slow down those engaged in illicit financial activity.

Banks and PSPs need to scale their compliance operations to meet demand by having the proper payment services and customer screening processes in place, especially amidst the shopping-fever generated by days like Singles’ Day, Black Friday or Cyber Monday.

With Singles’ Day hitting ground-breaking sales figures, and the US market facing fewer shopping days between Cyber Monday and Christmas this year, it remains to be seen who the overall winner will be in the battle of the shopping bags. Regardless, as retailers compete to get share of wallet from shoppers globally, it’s clear that cross-border payments have become mission-critical. The most compelling PSPs are those that comply with ever-changing regulatory mandates across regions and countries.