澳门赌场不会冒险洗钱


国际反洗钱(AML)法规的适用范围已经扩大到包括赌场在内的非金融机构。

澳门位于中国南海岸,长期以来一直笼罩在毗邻的香港的经济阴影之下。1844年,受葡萄牙殖民统治的澳门为了提高竞争力,宣布赌博合法化。2006年,澳门取代拉斯维加斯,成为世界上最成功的博彩中心。2018年12月,面积仅33平方公里的澳门特别行政区的人均GDP高达82613.301美元——其中博彩业贡献了80%的GDP。

澳门成功的背后阴暗面据美国国会及行政当局中国委员会的一份报告称,每年从澳门流入的“不法之财”高达2020亿美元。

洗钱者必赢的赌局

洗钱者和金融犯罪者特别喜欢通过赌场实施犯罪,因为这里现金密集、竞争激烈、客流量大且赌客逗留时间不长。并且赌场豪客们赌博时会要求赌场提供较为私密的空间,还经常使用海外账户。于是,赌场就成了金融犯罪分子“清洗”非法资金的“圣地”。

2016年3月,孟加拉国中央银行在美国纽约联邦储备银行开设的账户遭到攻击,失窃1.01亿美元。其中被盗的8100万美元据信流入了菲律宾赌场洗钱

金融行动特别工作组(FATF)(领导国际金融犯罪打击工作的机构)曾一度将博彩业当作严查目标。2003年,FATF的反洗钱(AML)和反恐怖融资(CFT)指南将其职责范围扩大到了包括赌场在内的特定非金融行业和职业(DNFBP);2008年,FATF在一份基于风险的反洗钱方案中,发布了针对赌场的具体指南。

博彩旅游公司提升了赌场收入

在澳门,有大量博彩旅游公司(也就是赌场旅游经营者)为亚洲各地的赌客(通常是VIP赌客)提供交通、住宿和餐饮等服务,并从自家游客下注的金额中抽取佣金。这导致赌场环境变得更加复杂。

澳门赌场70%的收入来自博彩旅游公司带来的游客。赌客可以很轻松地将一笔钱汇入中国大陆境内开设的博彩旅游公司的账户,接着用这笔钱在澳门赌博,然后将赢到的钱换成美元基金或港币,最后再转到境外。

亚太区反清洗黑钱组织(APG)在2017年发布的澳门评估报告中警告道:尽管澳门赌场特许经营者和次级特许经营者们都清楚反洗钱的相关风险和义务,但澳门的博彩旅游公司却对相关风险和义务的“意识不强”。因此,澳门的博彩旅游公司必须向澳门博彩监察协调局(DICJ)申请经营执照,并遵守现行的反洗钱/反恐怖融资法规。

严格监管加大商业压力

最近,澳门博彩监察协调局对澳门所有赌场经营者(共分三级:特许经营者、次级特许经营者和博彩旅游公司)在FATF合规性方面提出了更为严格的要求,具体包括:

  • 做好日常记录,雇佣合规官员;
  • 执行客户尽职调查(CDD);
  • 上报并确认大宗交易的参与者(包括受益人);
  • 确认、验证和持续监控政治敏感人物(PEP);
  • 上交可疑交易(STD)报告至澳门博彩监察协调局;以及
  • 要求赌场为不合规的博彩旅游公司承担连带责任。

澳门博彩监察协调局的上述要求意味着特许经营者和次级特许经营者与博彩旅游公司之间的业务关系将受到严格的监管。特许经营者/次级特许经营者与博彩旅游公司必须共同实施反洗钱预防措施。连带责任的概念意味着博彩旅游公司的缺陷将影响赌场自身的风险管理。基本上,特许经营者/次级特许经营者和博彩旅游公司都会受到澳门博彩监察协调局的审查。我们可以看出,澳门近年来在针对博彩旅游公司的经营执照发放和监督方面采取了更加严格的措施。换句话说,博彩旅游公司除了作为第三方介绍人之外,还得遵守现行的反洗钱法规。反洗钱是澳门博彩监察协调局重新加强关注的领域。2019年,澳门仅有100家左右的博彩旅游公司获得的经营执照(相比2013年的235家已经大幅下降)。澳门各赌场在2016年指出,他们正承受着来自东南亚各地的竞争压力,他们的收入创下五年新低1,而新要求的引入使得他们的成本更高,压力更大。

2016年,澳门从VIP赌客们身上赚取的收入急剧下降(中国大陆的反腐败行动是其中一大原因),但东南亚各地新开赌场的业绩却有所增长。对此,博彩旅游公司扩大了其经营范围。2017年,柬埔寨和菲律宾新成立的博彩旅游公司从VIP赌客身上赚取了至少14亿美元。

澳门的博彩旅游经营者也开始实行业务多元化,将其与博彩相关的业务扩展至菲律宾、韩国和越南等其他国家。例如,澳门最大的博彩旅游公司太阳城集团(Suncity)最近宣布,旗下斥资40亿美元建造的综合性赌场度假酒店将于今年年底在越南开业。该集团还考虑在菲律宾、柬埔寨和日本进行下一轮投资。

越来越多国家在积极促进博彩业的发展,但是正如

公认反洗钱师协会(ACAMS)在2018年的一份报告中指出的那样,新开设的博彩中心带来了一定的反洗钱风险,包括治理不足、与洗钱风险高的国家接壤所带来的不安全性。报告补充道:“当博彩旅游公司与多个国家的赌场合作时,一个国家的赌博资金就有可能流入另一个国家,这加大了监管机构确定资金来源的难度,也造成了巨大的洗钱风险。”

全球各国政府和监管机构依然关注着澳门等博彩中心所造成的反洗钱风险。例如,美国国务院在最近发布的反洗钱战略报告中建议:澳门政府应“继续加强机构间合作,避免博彩业出现洗钱行为”。

另一方面,赌场面临的挑战是:如何在不给客户带来负面体验的同时有效遵守反洗钱法规。

利用技术解决难题:非银行业的反洗钱活动

我们可以看到澳门对非金融行业和职业(DNFBP)提出了严格的反洗钱合规性要求。这些行业和职业的工作人员如想要精准、持续地开展客户调查,势必要获取全面、可靠和最新的筛查清单,例如不断变化的受制裁实体名单、政治敏感人物登记簿和负面新闻数据库。技术可以帮他们做到这一点。

对于赌场这样一个以客户为中心的行业而言,客户体验至关重要,因为它会直接影响赌客是否会进赌场消费,这关系到赌场收入。赌场必须确保其尽职调查过程既满足监管要求,又不破坏客户体验。所以,这一过程的关键是自动化。通过自动化程序,赌场可以实时筛查新赌客和大额赌局的赌客们的信息。

随着世界各地赌场的增多,全球各地涉及该行业的反洗钱法规将继续收紧。为了保持合规性且不危及赌场执照,赌场必须定期审查其尽职调查过程。

世界各地的赌场,尤其像澳门这样成功的博彩中心,都不会冒任何风险去实施金融犯罪。实际上,如果他们采取措施建立行业信任度,避免金融犯罪提升行业声誉风险和金融风险,那么他们可以从中受益匪浅。
 
 

[1] 澳门赌场收入从2013年的450亿美元高位下降至2016年的280亿美元。Source – UNLV Center for Gaming Research https://gaming.unlv.edu/abstract/macau.html

Macau’s Casinos Not Taking Chances on Money Laundering Risk


Jane Lee

International anti-money laundering (AML) regulations have been extended to non-financial businesses, including casinos.

Macau, a region situated on the south coast of China, has long stood in the economic shadow of its close neighbor Hong Kong. In 1844, in an attempt to compete, the former Portuguese territory legalized gambling, and in 2006, it superseded Las Vegas as the most successful gambling hub in the world. In Dec 2018, this autonomous region of just 33 square kilometers reached GDP per capita of US$82,613.301 – 80% of which was contributed by the casino industry.

Its success also has a dark side. According to a report by the Congressional Executive Commission on China, $202bn in ‘ill-gotten funds’ are channeled through Macau each year.

A Safe Bet for Money Launderers

Casinos are particularly vulnerable to money laundering and financial crime. The business is cash-intensive, highly competitive, and deals with large numbers of transient visitors. High-roller gamblers expect a degree of privacy, and foreign holding accounts are commonly used. As a result, the sector is an attractive target for financial criminals wanting to ‘wash’ illicit funds.

In March 2016, US$101m was stolen from an account held by Bangladesh’s Central Bank at the Federal Reserve Bank in New York. It is thought that $81m of that amount was laundered through casinos in the Philippines.

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF), the body leading the international fight against financial crime, has had the casino sector in its sights for some time. In 2003, the FATF’s guidelines on anti-money laundering (AML) and counter terrorism financing (CFT) were extended to designated non-financial businesses and professions (DNFBPs), including casinos; in 2008, the FATF released specific guidance for casinos on a risk-based approach to combat money laundering.

Junkets Raise the Stakes

The prevalence of junkets in Macau – casino tourism operators providing transport, accommodation and meals to gamblers from across Asia, often targeting high net worth VIP gamblers, in exchange for a commission on bets laid by their clients – is a further complication.

As much as 70% of casino revenue in Macau can be generated by junket customers. It is relatively simple for a gambler to deposit money with a junket in Mainland China, access that money to gamble in Macau, and then deposit their winnings in US funds or Hong Kong dollars and move it offshore.

The Asia-Pacific Group on Money Laundering (APG) warned in its 2017 <a href=”https://www.fatf-gafi.org/media/fatf/content/images/APG-Mutual-Evaluation-Report-Macao-China-2017.pdf”>evaluation report on Macau that, while concessionaires and sub-concessionaires have a sound understanding of AML risks and obligations, there is ’incomplete awareness’ among junket operators. Junkets in Macau must apply for a license to operate from Macau’s Gaming Inspection and Coordination Bureau (DICJ), and are also subject to enforceable AML/CFT requirements.

Tighter Regulation Adds Commercial Pressure

Recently, the DICJ has strengthened requirements for all three casino tiers in Macau – concessionaire, sub-concessionaire and junket promoter – in line with FATF recommendations, including:

  • a requirement to keep daily records and employ a compliance officer
  • an obligation to carry out customer due diligence (CDD)
  • an obligation to report and identify participants in large transactions, including the beneficiary owner
  • identification, verification and ongoing monitoring of politically exposed persons (PEPs)
  • a requirement to file suspicious transactions (STDs) reports to the DICJ
  • joint liability between junkets and casinos for junkets’ compliance with applicable regulations.

One implication is that concessionaires and sub-concessionaires face tighter regulatory requirements in their business relationships with junket promoters. Concessionaires/sub-concessionaries and junkets must collaborate to implement preventative measures in AML. The concept of joint liability means that deficiencies in junkets will affect the risk management of the casinos themselves. Essentially, DICJ will be conducting reviews on both the concessionaires/sub-concessionaires and junkets. It has seen that in the recent years, Macau has taken a more stringent approach towards licensing and the supervision of junket promoters, which, in addition to acting as third-party introducers, are also subject to enforceable AML requirements. This area is the subject of enhanced and renews focus by DICJ. The number of license junket promoters has decreased from 235 in 2013 to about 100 in 2019. Macau’s casinos pointed out in 2016 when the new requirements were introduced that they placed extra costs and pressures on them at a time when the territory is facing competition from across Southeast Asia and casino revenue had hit a five-year low1.

While revenue generated by VIPs in Macau dropped sharply in 2016, partly due to a crackdown on corruption in Mainland China, new casinos across Southeast Asia have seen their business increase. Junkets have expanded their reach accordingly; new junket operators in Cambodia and the Philippines earned at least US$1.4bn from VIP gamblers in 2017.

In response, Macau’s junket operators have diversified their business activities and expanded their gaming-related operations to other geographies including the Philippines, South Korea and Vietnam. Suncity, Macau’s biggest junket operator, for example, recently announced that it’s new US$4bn integrated casino resort will open in Vietnam by the end of this year; the group is also considering the Philippines, Cambodia and Japan for its next investment.

The number of countries actively facilitating casino gambling is on the increase, but as a 2018 report by the Association of Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialists (ACAMS) pointed out, some of these newer gambling hubs bring specific AML risks, including inadequate governance or unsecured borders with nations that have a high money laundering risk. ‘When junket operators work with casinos that have operations in several counties,’ added the report, ‘there is the potential for funds in one country being used for gambling in another, further complicating challenge of identifying the source of funds, as well as creating a significant money laundering risk.’

The AML risks posed by a successful gambling hub like Macau remains of concern to governments and regulators worldwide. A recent Strategy Report on money laundering from the US State Department, for example, advised that the Macau government ‘should continue to strengthen interagency coordination to prevent money laundering in the gaming industry’.

The challenge for casinos is to meet AML requirements effectively without impacting customer experience negatively.

Letting Technology Take the Strain: AML Beyond Banking

Across the region we are seeing stringent AML compliance requirements for Designated Non-Financial Businesses and Professionals (DNFBPs). It is important to have access to comprehensive, reliable and up-to-date screening list, such as ever-changing Sanctioned entities and Politically Exposed Persons registers and Negative news database, allowing DNFBPs to conduct accurate ongoing customer due diligence. The solution lies in technology.

In a customer centric industry, customer experience is crucial, as it will directly affect the Casinos’ patron visits, thus revenue. Casinos must ensure that the diligence process meetings regulatory requirements at the same time providing a positive customer experience. The key to this process is automation. With automation in place, real-time screening and checks can be conducted on new patron members and parties involved in high value transactions.

With a raise in casinos around the world, AML regulations in this industry will continue to tighten internationally. In order to remain compliant and not putting their Casino license at stake, Casinos has to review their due diligence process regularly.

Casinos around the world, and particularly in a successful gambling center such as Macau, can’t take any chances on financial crime risk. In fact, they have much to gain from taking steps to build trust in the sector and protect the industry from the growing reputational and financial risks posed by financial crime.

 

[1] Casino revenue in Macau fell from a high of US$45bn in 2013 to $28bn in 2016. Source – UNLV Center for Gaming Research https://gaming.unlv.edu/abstract/macau.html