追求卓越的制裁合规:从透明度到可解释性


我们的制裁合规系列博客文章共分三个部分,最后一个部分着眼于行业从透明度到可解释性的转变。

可解释的合规性

正如我们最近发布的白皮书《追求卓越的制裁合规:有效性、效率和可解释性的作用》(第三版)所述,可解释性意味着:用户能够了解制裁筛查系统的输入内容和输出结果。
制裁筛查系统的输入内容不仅包括数据以及数据的质量、广度和标记,而且还包括相关政策、程序和系统配置。制裁筛选系统的输出结果包括由筛选活动触发的警报,以及最终采取的行动或结果,如关闭账户或冻结资金等。

对于需要清除警报的用户以及负责评估组织制裁合规计划强度与执行情况的审计机构和监管机构而言,了解制裁筛查系统的输入内容与输出结果十分重要。

制裁筛查系统的输出结果通常显示为一个或多个的分数。这些分数表示各类警报的优先级别,从而让用户了解各类警报的严重程度。然而,盲目相信分数并不可取——组织必须了解制裁筛查系统究竟如何确定具体分数。例如,通过罗列与警报或分数相关的属性,或演示各个属性对系统决策的贡献程度,就可以了解制裁筛查系统确定分数的具体方式。

从透明度到可解释性的转变

纵观历史,制裁合规监管始终关注的是供应商系统的透明度。美国货币监理暑就曾在2011年发布的《模型风险管理指南》中强调过这一点。

不过,随着人工智能(AI)等先进技术的兴起,总有一些无法透明的隐藏变量和决策。行业必须转向可解释的人工智能,因为人工智能的相关元素即使并不完全透明,也可以清楚地进行解释。

从透明度到可解释性的转变并不局限于制裁筛查解决方案——组织的整个合规计划对审计机构和监管机构都应该是可解释的。这其中必须涵盖合规计划的策略、政策和选择,具体包括:如何设置各项配置,为何进行如此设置,如何设置工作流和审查,如何管理日常更新,以及哪些人员将提供哪些验证。这些都是组织实现健全治理过程中需要遵守的基础原则。

例如,某个组织在计划发布新的跨境支付产品时,必须进行风险评估,以此确定是否存在新的风险,是否需要采取降低风险的控制措施,是否存在剩余风险等问题。一旦得出新的风险评估结果,下一步就是研究哪些政策和程序支持采取降低风险的控制措施,将其记录在案,并确保其具有可解释性。

最后应当关注的是如何利用技术实施相关政策。制裁筛查系统必须经过测试,接受监控,最重要的是相对用户和监管机构而言具有可解释性。

可解释的人工智能(AI)

先进技术解决方案的可解释性可能更加复杂,必须清楚地说明解决方案的规则、分析方法,或得出结论所应用到的AI技术。先进的技术使组织能够理解系统输入与系统输出之间的关系——这一概念看似简单,实则十分复杂。

现代的人工智能算法正在试图接近人脑思维方式。众所周知,人脑思维方式难以解释。人工智能算法越接近人脑思维方式,就越难以解释。这反过来又使得系统输出结果的解释显得尤为重要。
要想解释系统的输出结果,可以尝试跟踪模型如何处理可变权重和决策点,并通过逆向工程技术分析系统输出与系统输入之间的关系。即便人工智能算法日趋接近人脑思维方式,我们也不要忘记:人类也会犯错,机器也会犯错。

此外,还有一些手段可以帮助提高人工智能的可解释性,例如:可以集成一个清楚显示决策相关属性的用户界面,或者可以进行报告和审计跟踪,自动关注模型的运行状况并降低出现偏差的几率。

基于文件和记录的可解释性

实施制裁筛查控制措施时,技术至关重要。然而,制裁合规计划的可解释性依赖于全面的文件记录;风险评估可以帮助解释计划的目标;相关政策与程序则能详细说明如何制定用于降低风险的控制措施。对于监管机构和审计机构而言,全面而实时更新的制裁筛查程序是评估制裁合规方案充分性的必要前提。对于组织而言,全面而实时更新的制裁筛查程序也是确保制裁合规流程稳定且高效的必要前提。

最后,详尽的记录有助于证明控制措施的实际执行情况。记录越是详尽,组织向监管机构提供的解释就越有力。

透明度是制裁筛查的第一步。然而,时至今日,可解释性已成为关键目标。组织必须能够解释从战略、风险评估到政策和程序的整个制裁筛查链。这必须要有全面的记录作为后盾。对员工和管理层来说,充分利用工具并了解如何满足组织的风险偏好至关重要。因此,可解释性能够让员工和管理层获知更加有效和高效的制裁筛查控制措施。

有效性、效率和可解释性是寻求卓越的制裁筛查计划时需要考虑的三个主要指标。这三个指标能够确保筛查过程中使用正确的资源,确保技术“黑箱”不会喷出超出组织控制范围的结果。监管机构和审计机构希望制裁筛查中只有“玻璃箱”。

欲知更多详情,可以下载我们的白皮书《追求卓越的制裁合规:有效性、效率和可解释性的作用》。

Excellence in Sanctions Compliance: Moving from Transparency to Explainability


This final installment of our three-part sanctions compliance blog series looks at the industry shift from transparency to true explainability.

Explainable Compliance

As described in our recent white paper, Excellence in Sanctions Compliance: The Role of Effectiveness, Efficiency and Explainability (the 3E’s), explainability means being able to understand both the inputs and outputs of a sanctions screening system.

Inputs include not just data and the quality, breadth and tagging of data, but also policy, procedure and system configurations. Outputs include alerts triggered by the screening activity as well as the final actions or outcomes, such as closing accounts or blocking funds.

Understanding the inputs and outputs is important to both users who need to clear alerts and to auditors and regulators who evaluate the strength and execution of an organisation’s sanctions compliance programme.

Screening outputs are often presented as a score, or multiple scores, that help to prioritise alerts and give users a sense of their severity. Yet, it is no longer acceptable to blindly trust the score – organisations must understand how the system determined it. This can be accomplished, for example, by listing the attributes associated with the alert and score or by demonstrating how much each attribute contributed to the decision the system made.

Shifting from Transparency to Explainability

Historically, the focus has been on transparency in vendor systems. This was highlighted in the 2011 model risk management guidance issued by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC).

However, with the rise of artificial intelligence (AI) and other advanced technologies, there are often hidden variables and decisions that cannot be transparent. The industry needs to move to explainable AI, where elements can be explained clearly even if they may not be fully transparent.

This shift from transparency to explainability does not stop at sanctions screening solutions – an organisation’s entire compliance programme needs to be explainable to auditors and regulators. This includes the strategies, policies and choices that go into the programme, including how settings are configured and why, how workflows and reviews are set up, how daily updates are managed, and what validation is given by whom. These are principles for sound governance.

For example, if an institution is planning to release a new cross-border payments product, the risk assessment should be reviewed for new risks, mitigating controls and residual risk. Once the risk assessment is updated, the next step is to look at the policies and procedures that support the mitigating controls and ensure they are documented and explainable.

Finally, attention should be given to how those policies are implemented with technology. The system must be tested, monitored and most importantly, explainable to users and regulators.

Explainable AI

With advanced technology solutions, explainability can be more complex as it requires clarifying how the solution’s rules, analytics or AI techniques reached the conclusion that they did. Advanced technology enables organisations to understand how inputs relate to outputs of the system – a concept that appears simple but is more complicated than it seems.

Modern AI algorithms attempt to approximate the action of the human mind, which is notoriously difficult to explain. The closer algorithms get to that ideal, the more difficult it becomes to explain the algorithm, which in turn makes explaining the outputs even more important.

One of the ways of doing this is to attempt to track how the model handles variable weighting and decision points and reverse engineer how outputs relate to inputs. In getting closer to the ideal of approximating the human mind, it is important to remember that humans make mistakes, and machines can as well – but hopefully not so often.

There are additional techniques that help to make AI explainable to operational users. For example, incorporating a user interface design that clearly highlights attributes relevant to the decision, and reporting and audit trails that automatically keep an eye on model health and reduce the chance for bias.

Explainability Through Documentation and Records

While technology is crucial in implementing sanctions screening controls, the programme’s explainability starts with comprehensive documentation; risk assessments help explain the objectives, while policies and procedures provide formal details of how the mitigating controls are designed. Comprehensive and up-to-date procedures are necessary for regulators and auditors to assess the sanctions compliance programme’s adequacy and for the organisation to ensure the process is stable and efficient.

Finally, record keeping is instrumental in demonstrating the actual control execution. The greater the level of detail kept, the stronger the explanation that the institution can provide to the regulator.

Transparency in sanctions screening is a first step, but today, explainability is a critical goal. Organisations must be able to explain the entire chain from strategy and risk assessment to policies and procedures. That documentation must be backed by comprehensive records. Explainability informs more efficient and effective sanctions screening controls because it is critical for staff and management to make the best of the tools and understand how they meet the organisation’s risk appetite.

Together, effectiveness, efficiency and explainability are the three primary dimensions to consider when pursuing excellence in sanctions screening programmes. They ensure that the right resources are applied to screening processes and that no technological black boxes spew results beyond control of the institution. Regulators and auditors expect only glass boxes in sanctions screening.

Download our white paper, Excellence in Sanctions Compliance: The Role of Effectiveness, Efficiency and Explainability to learn more.