“反洗钱”和“OFAC”合规——一场艰难的保险战


Uphill image保险和再保险行业面临着许多与其他金融机构相同的许多挑战: 分散的系统、人工流程,以及渴求降低误报。

但保险行业存在一些细小的差别使反洗钱和OFAC合规变得复杂。在最近于纽约举行的保险业反洗钱与OFAC合规论坛上,这些问题成为了中心议题。

作为此次保险业盛会的赞助商之一,Accuity有幸和与会嘉宾进行了深入交流,包括来自不同规模和地区的保险公司的首席合规官和“反洗钱”从业人员,以了解他们面临的主要挑战。

扩大的责任

最近OFAC对保险机构的执法行动证明,监管审查的加强是一个越来越令人担忧的问题。它向保险和再保险公司发出了一个明确的信息,即它们需要加强合规。仍在手动进行“反洗钱”检查的公司——这并不罕见——现在正寻求将这一过程自动化。

建立“反洗钱”和金融犯罪筛查项目正成为保险公司的优先任务,这些保险公司通过收购实现了自然发展和扩张,其全球业务覆盖范围也在不断扩大。公司内部的法律顾问和合规团队现在负责以前不在其职权范围内的新实体。为此,他们正在寻求帮助,以建立一个全面的计划以减轻风险。

业务增长加剧了对大批量保单和保单生命周期各个阶段的赔付要求进行筛选的需求。从成本和运营的角度来看,能够轻松地建立规则来降低误报率是很重要的,选择相关的全球观察名单进行筛选的灵活性也是很重要的。

然而,有效的观察名单筛选对于那些在不同保险业务线拥有不同系统的公司来说可能是难以实现的。整合系统并实施与保险公司索赔系统相结合的金融犯罪筛查解决方案,对于寻求整体活动视角来识别风险的公司来说是一个明智的方向。

制裁令保险公司头痛

找到一个有效的筛选方案,以协调不同的、有时是相互冲突的制裁要求,是一个巨大的挑战,尤其是考虑到对俄罗斯、伊朗、古巴、委内瑞拉和朝鲜的制裁限制在不断演变。

给OFAC制裁对象出立保单或进行赔付是违反规定的。为特别指定国民和被封锁人员名单上的人投保可能受到民事和刑事处罚。由于OFAC的清单经常变化,并且OFAC的制裁对象可以是被保险人和附加被保险人、投保人、保费支付者、受益人和第三方索赔人,因此确定所有各方是非常具有挑战性的。

OFAC的50%规则也引起了关注。它规定:“一个或多个被冻结人直接或间接拥有的实体的财产和在财产中的利益被认为是被冻结的。“由于OFAC没有编制SDN拥有的实体名单,保险公司有责任对客户的企业层级进行筛选,以确定受制裁行为者之间的关系。”

保险公司需要做出以风险为本的决定,来决定多长时间筛查一次现有保单,以确保投保人不在SDN列表中。最佳实践规定,应至少在保单签发之前和在保费或支付红利之前进行筛选。然而,由于OFAC SDNs不断变化,因此有必要进行持续的批量筛选,以确保保单一旦出立,投保人不会出现在列表中。

持续监控有助于确保保单不会在不知情的情况下涉及被制裁国家的风险,或确保该公司为被制裁国家的飞机、船只和货物提供保险。

合规文化

会议上另一个令人关注的话题是不仅可以对公司,而且还可以对参与承保、管理和理赔的个人施加严格的责任惩罚。这些处罚范围之广,正促使保险公司制定有意义的合规计划 ——而不仅仅是未读的“反洗钱”手册。

强大的合规文化,包括适当的员工培训,再加上有效的筛选方案,可以在很大程度上帮助保险公司可靠地识别风险。

为了更好地了解美国保险公司的“反洗钱”筛查方法,Accuity最近对其合规专业人士进行了调研。如果你想知道我们的问卷结果,请下载我们最新的问卷图表了解更多。

AML & OFAC Compliance – An Uphill Battle for Insurance


The insurance and reinsurance sector struggle with many of the same challenges as their financial institution brethren: disparate systems, manual processes, and the drive to lower false positives.

However, there are nuanced differences unique to the insurance sector that complicate anti-money laundering (AML) and OFAC compliance. These issues were front and center at the Forum on AML & OFAC Compliance for the Insurance Industry, held recently in New York.

As one of the sponsors of this premier insurance industry event, Accuity had a chance to engage with conference delegates, including chief compliance and AML officers representing insurance companies of different sizes and geographic reach to understand their key challenges.

Expanding Responsibilities

Increased regulatory scrutiny as evidenced by recent OFAC enforcement actions against insurance providers is a growing concern across the board. It is sending insurance and reinsurance companies a clear message that they need to strengthen compliance. Companies that are still doing AML checks manually – which is not uncommon – are now looking to automate this process.

Building out AML and financial crime screening programs is becoming a priority for insurance companies whose global reach is increasing as a result of organic growth and expansion through acquisition. In-house counsel and compliance teams are now responsible for new entities previously outside of their purview. As a result, they are looking for help in building an all-encompassing program to mitigate risk.

Growth intensifies the need to screen high-volume policies and claims payments at various stages of the policy lifecycle. The ability to easily build rules to lower false positives is important from both a cost and operational perspective, as is the flexibility to choose relevant global watch lists for screening.

However, effective watch list screening may prove elusive for companies that have disparate systems across various lines of insurance. Consolidating systems and implementing a financial crime screening solution that integrates with an insurance company’s claims system is a smart direction for companies that seek a holistic view of activity to identify risk.

The Sanctions Headache

Finding an effective screening solution for reconciling different and sometimes conflicting sanctions requirements is an enormous challenge, particularly in light of the constantly evolving sanctions restrictions on Russia, Iran, Cuba, Venezuela and North Korea.

It is a violation to issue a policy or a payment of claim with an OFAC target. Insuring a person on the Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons (SDN) list may be punishable by civil and criminal penalties. Since OFAC lists change frequently and OFAC targets can be insureds and additional insureds, policyholders, payers of premium, beneficiaries, and third-party claimants, identifying all parties is incredibly challenging.

OFAC’s 50 Percent Rule is also garnering attention. It states that “the property and interests in property of entities directly or indirectly owned 50 percent or more in the aggregate by one or more blocked persons are considered blocked.” Since OFAC does not compile a list of SDN-owned entities, the onus falls on insurance companies to screen corporate hierarchies of their customers to determine the relationship between sanctioned actors.

Insurance companies need to make a risk-based determination to decide how often to screen insurance policies to ensure that a policyholder is not on the SDN list. Best practices dictate that screening should be done at least prior to policy issuance and before billing of premium or payment of benefit. However, since OFAC SDNs change constantly, continuous batch screening may be necessary to ensure that policyholders don’t appear on a list once the policy is issued.

Ongoing monitoring helps ensure that an insurance policy doesn’t unwittingly cover risks in a sanctioned country or that the company is insuring aircrafts, vessels and cargo shipped to sanctioned countries.

A Culture of Compliance

Another topic of concern at the conference was the strict liability penalties that could be imposed not only on companies, but also on individuals involved in underwriting, administration and claims. The broad reach of these penalties is driving insurance companies to develop a meaningful compliance program – which is not just AML manuals that remain unread.

A strong culture of compliance, including proper employee training, combined with an effective screening solution can go a long way to helping insurance companies identify risk reliably.

Accuity recently surveyed compliance professionals from insurance firms in the U.S. to better understand their approach to AML screening. Download our latest infographic to get a snapshot of the key findings.