贸易融资:反洗钱和反恐怖融资之战的新前线


继香港银行公会(HKAB)发布了一份关于打击贸易洗钱的指导性文件(1)之后,亚太地区的监管机构越来越重视打击贸易洗钱(TBML)。这篇文章如此重要的原因在于:香港金融管理局资助、肯定并鼓励其辖下的各个授权机构积极采取这篇文章介绍的各类措施来完善各自的反洗钱 和反恐怖融资(AML/CFT)程序和制度。

自英国金融行为监管局(FCA)于2013年发布一篇名为《银行对贸易融资领域中金融犯罪风险的控制》的报告(2)以来,Accuity看到:亚太地区监管机构的打击重点已经发生了重大变化;印度、新加坡、澳大利亚和香港的监管机构尤其注重提高贸易各方的防范意识,以及建立与“贸易洗钱”和“军民两用商品筛查”有关的标准规范。英国金融行为监管局的报告点燃了全世界对“贸易洗钱”的关注。事实上,就连美国国会最近也就这一话题举行了听证会,而国会成员也认识到与恐怖融资有关的贸易洗钱所造成的威胁越来越大。(2)

银行和其他受监管金融机构对与客户登记、支付筛查和交易行为有关的传统银行业务流程实施了强而有力的反洗钱/反恐怖融资监控措施。随着监管机构的关注点从传统银行业务领域转向贸易融资领域,银行需要准备额外预算来打击贸易洗钱,因此,银行的合规成本将会上升。由于在港口或货源地附近收集信息可能造成业务成本上涨,拥有国际义务和区域业务的大型金融机构需要确定:打击贸易洗钱过程中到底应该采取集中模式还是分散模式?然而,各类业务知识由各国贸易业务人员积累起来,因此,这种方法实际上可能是控制风险的最佳方法。

由于贸易交易基于纸质文件,而贸易环境中运用的自动化交易监测技术十分有限,大多数风险评估仍然依赖于工作人员的主观判断。在制定与打击贸易洗钱相关的政策/升级程序以及定义相关角色/职责时,贸易融资运营部门的专业经验具有不容低估的重要性。打击贸易洗钱方案能否成功的绝对关键就在于合规监管机构和贸易融资运营部门之间能够顺利合作。

香港银行公会在其指导性文件中表示:军民两用商品的甄别十分复杂,可能需要具有专业知识的甄别人员才能完成,只能寄希望于相关公司同时采用人工方法和自动化方法来甄别军民两用商品。我们看到,在监管监督严格的司法管辖区内,Accuity军民两用商品筛查服务的使用率大幅上升。若这些司法管辖区内的外资银行采用了此项服务(有几家银行在全球范围内推行此项服务),又会反过来提高其母国的军民两用商品筛查标准,

随着越来越多的监管机构开始审查贸易洗钱领域的银行业标准,打击贸易洗钱正在成为监管机构的工作重点。合规官员需要与贸易融资业务部门坐下来,一起制定与“反洗钱/反恐怖融资”和“军民两用商品筛查”有关的政策和程序。贸易融资是打击洗钱和恐怖主义融资的新前线,只会受到监管机构更多的审查。香港银行公会的指导性文件清楚地介绍了香港境内受监管金融机构在这一领域的义务与责任。

Trade Finance: The new frontline in the battle in the prevention of money laundering & terrorist financing


By: Sean Norris, Sales Director, Asia-Pacific, Accuity

Combatting Trade Based Money Laundering (TBML) gains momentum in Asia-Pacific (APAC) with a detailed guidance paper by the Hong Kong Association of Banks (HKAB)(1). What makes this paper important is the input, acknowledgment and encouragement of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority for the authorized institutions it governs to adopt these practices to improve anti-money laundering and counter terrorist financing (AML/CFT) processes and systems.

Since 2013 when the UK Financial Conduct AuthoriSean best headshotty (FCA) published “Banks, Control of Financial Crime Risks in Trade Finance” (2) Accuity has seen a significant change in focus by regulators across APAC with regulators in India, Singapore, Australia and Hong Kong being particularity proactive in raising awareness and defining best practices related to the combatting of TBML and Dual-use Goods (DUG) Screening. The UK FCA report was the spark that set a fire of focus on TBML across the world.  Indeed, even in the USA, there was a recent congressional hearing around this topic with members of Congress recognizing the increasing threat of TBML as related to financing terrorism. (2)

Banks and other regulated institutions have strong AML/CFT controls for traditional banking process related to client onboarding, payment screening and transaction behavior. As momentum and focus moves from these traditional banking areas to Trade Finance, the cost of compliance will go up as banks will need to prepare additional budget to combat TBML. Larger institutions with international and regional operations will need to determine if a centralized or decentralized model works when combating TBML as the information gathered closer to the port or source may come at higher operational cost.  This approach however may actually may be the best way to limit the risk as knowledge is built up by the trade operations people in country.

Due to the paper based nature of trade transactions and the limitations of automated transaction monitoring in a trade context, the majority of risk assessments are reliant on the judgement of staff. The importance of trade operations experience when developing a policy, escalation procedures and defining roles/ responsibilities related to combating TBML cannot be underestimated; the absolute key to a successful program is the collaboration of compliance and trade finance operations

The HKAB guidance paper acknowledges that dual-use goods screening is complex and can require specialist knowledge, however it sets an expectation that firms utilise both manual and automated methods of screening for dual-use goods. We have seen a large increase in the adoption of Accuity’s Dual-use Goods screening services in jurisdictions with stronger regulatory oversight, and in the case of the foreign banks in these jurisdictions this has in turn raised the standard of the Dual-Use Goods Screening programme in the home country, with several banks rolling out the service globally.

The focus to combat TBML is gaining momentum with more and more regulators starting to review banking standards in this area. Compliance officers need to sit down with trade finance operations to develop policy and procedures related to combating AML/CFT and DUG Screening. This is the new front line in the battle against money laundering and terrorist financing and only more scrutiny by regulators is expected. The HKAB Guidance is a clear guide as to what is expected of regulated institutions in Hong Kong.

iran-info-headline-banner-initial

Note:

(1) http://www.hkma.gov.hk/media/eng/doc/key-functions/banking-stability/aml-cft/Guidance_Paper_on_Combating_Trade-based_Money_Laundering.pdf
(2) https://www.fca.org.uk/your-fca/documents/thematic-reviews/tr13-03
(3) http://financialservices.house.gov/calendar/eventsingle.aspx?EventID=400192