筛查和审核交易方时应避免的三个KYC盲点


对金融同业的了解你的客户(KYC)和反洗钱(AML)筛查是主动合规和风险管理的重要组成部分。但随着监管机构不断调整对有效合规的要求,而且频繁公布最新的制裁名单,筛查的需求也在不断变化。

仅2019年,Accuity便记录了主要制裁名单的242个变化,包括联合国(UN)、欧盟(EU)、英国财政部(HMT)和美国海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)公布的制裁名单。特别是,OFAC始终信奉“罪恶不息”的老话,在新冠肺炎疫情下仍在持续更新和发布制裁名单。

在这个迅速变化的监管环境中,“了解你的客户”(KYC)与反洗钱(AML)专业人员需要了解可能对金融犯罪筛查过程构成威胁的盲点。

  1. 不断变化的风险状况

    一般情况下,对金融同业的筛查安排在初准入阶段,之后进行定期审查。这种方法的问题在于需假设交易对手的风险状况在审查周期内保持不变。

    但情况并非总是如此。在这个时间框架内,交易对手的风险状况可能发生巨大变化。例如,政治人物或被制裁实体入股等股东变更可能显著改变交易对手的风险状况,使对应的金融机构也面临风险。

    对可能影响交易对手风险状况的公司事件(如股东变更或收购交易等)进行监控可以触发由事件驱动的KYC审查,有助于降低风险。这个监控过程可以确保金融机构能够通过最新信息了解交易对手的风险状况,必要时快速采取补救措施,使机构免遭监管审查与声誉影响。

  2. 不断完善的法规

    法规在不断完善,制裁的数量也在不断增加;例如,在过去五年中,OFAC的制裁记录增加了40%,着实令人震惊。

    在疫情威胁和地缘政治冲突日益加剧的背景下,制裁变得越来越复杂,机构必须对交易对手进行更深入的强化尽职调查(EDD),而不是仅根据基本信息完成名称比对流程。定期性的KYC流程会遗漏监管信息的关键变化,使金融机构面临更大风险。如果每12-36个月进行一次KYC审查,金融机构只能简单了解交易对手在单个时间点上存在的风险。但如果持续监控,金融机构便能通过类似直播的体验了解交易对手的风险状况变化。

    自动化的持续监控能够使金融机构准确了解交易对手的风险状况何时发生变化,同时将成本和人工工作量降到最低。补救措施可以在需要时采取,从而降低审查间隔期内的不必要风险。金融机构可以通过持续监控实时密切地管理代理行关系。

  3. 复杂的所有权结构

    监管机构越来越要求明确所有权结构,甚至具体到10%的所有权,以便更全面地了解某些地区的金融机构的背后身份。

    事实证明,这对于KYC团队而言是一个巨大的挑战,因为收集这些信息既复杂又耗时。现有流程中并无具体的审计记录可以向监管机构展示这项工作的完成情况。

    最终受益所有权(UBO)信息的中央存储库可以解决这个繁琐的过程,确保金融机构保持合规性。通过选择最准确且定期更新的UBO数据信息,金融机构可以确保在准入和审查金融同业合作关系时知晓交易对手的背后身份。

 
Accuity可以帮助梳理上述盲点,请下载白皮书《如何避免KYC盲点》

Three KYC Blind Spots to Avoid When Screening and Reviewing Counterparties


Financial Counterparty Know Your Customer (KYC) and Anti-Money Laundering (AML) screening continue to be vital components of proactive compliance and risk management. Yet the goal posts keep shifting as regulators constantly adjust their requirements for effective compliance and frequently publish updates to sanctions lists.

In 2019 alone, Accuity recorded 242 changes to major sanctions lists including the United Nations (UN), European Union (EU), Her Majesty’s Treasury (HMT), and the Office of Foreign Asset Control (OFAC). OFAC in particular has continued to release updates at pace amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, supporting the age-old saying, “crime never sleeps.”

Within this fast-moving regulatory environment, KYC and AML professionals need to be aware of the blind spots that could jeopardise the financial crime screening process.

  1. Dynamic Risk Profiles

    Typically, screening financial counterparties occurs during their initial onboarding, followed by periodic review and remediation. The problem with this approach is the assumption that the counterparty’s risk profile remains static during the review cycle.

    This is not always the case. During this time frame, the counterparty’s risk profile could shift dramatically. For example, a change in shareholders to include a Politically Exposed Person (PEP) or even a sanctioned entity could significantly alter a counterparty’s risk profile and put your institution at risk.

    Monitoring for corporate actions that may affect the counterparty’s risk profile, such as a change in shareholders or an acquisition, can help mitigate this risk by triggering event-driven KYC reviews. This monitoring process ensures your counterparty’s risk profiles are informed by the latest information, enabling you to take remediation actions quickly and protect your institution from regulatory and reputational scrutiny.

  2. Changing Regulations
    Regulations are constantly evolving, and the number of sanctions in place continues to grow; for example there has been a staggering 40% increase in OFAC sanctions records in the last five years.

    With the backdrop of the pandemic and increasing geo-political conflicts, sanctions are getting complicated and it is important that you do a deeper Enhanced Due Diligence (EDD) on your counterparties rather than a mere name matching exercise against a basic data-set. The periodic KYC process leaves out key changes of regulatory information, exposing your institution to increased risk. When running a KYC review once every 12-36 months, you produce a snapshot of the counterparty’s risk at a single point in time. However, when performing on-going screening, you view the equivalent of a livestream video.

    Automated ongoing screening enables you to know exactly when your counterparty’s risk status changes with minimal cost and manual effort. Remediation can happen as the need arises and mitigate unnecessary risk between reviews. By leveraging continuous screening, you can closely manage your correspondent relationships in real time.

  3. Elusive Ownership Structures

    Regulators are increasingly requiring ownership structures to be defined down to even 10% of ownership to facilitate a more comprehensive understanding of who is behind your counterparty in some jurisdictions.

    This has proven to be a large feat for KYC teams, as gathering this information is complex and time consuming. Depending on the process in place, there is no concrete audit trail to track and demonstrate this research to regulators.

    Relying on a central repository of Ultimate Beneficial Ownership (UBO) information can combat this tedious process and ensure you remain compliant. By choosing a reference set fueled by the most accurate and regularly updated UBO data, you can be confident that you know who is behind your counterparty’s organisation when entering and reviewing your counterparties.

Accuity can help you navigate these blind spots by downloading our Avoiding the KYC Blind Spots whitepaper.