监管科技公司(RegTechs):开放式银行的重要盟友


这是激动人心的时刻!监管科技领域有许多新的创新有待探索,还有更多的创新即将面世。Accuity公司的欧洲、中东和非洲区总监Franck Lanher与我们分享了他在多个全球领先金融机构改进金融犯罪合规流程的经验。

哪些监管科技(RegTech)解决方案能够应对开放式银行带来的挑战和机遇?

开放式银行正在迅速改变传统银行和金融机构的市场机遇和竞争格局。现在,这个生态系统比以往任何时候都要广阔和复杂。

更广泛的传统金融从业者和新进金融从业者可以抓住当前的新机遇。PSD2指令是重要的变革驱动力,解锁了金融行业新兴服务的潜力。下文列举了一些新的商机:

  • 帮助消费者和中小型企业在一个界面内监督他们在不同银行开立的银行账户;
  • 基于财务状况和识别模式开发分析软件,帮助消费者更好地管理财务;
  • 根据数据分析结果,开发并设计最适合的金融服务产品;
  • 提供其他会计服务(如开票、对账和保理)(适用于对公客户);
  • 提供支付开通服务:通过银行账户直接促进支付(减小对信用卡、支票和现金的依赖)。

想要在竞争激烈的市场上获得发展,传统银行和创新型金融科技公司面临着不同的挑战,但它们都必须妥善管理好自身的合规事务。就金融业务而言,合规性至关重要,也是一个不可协商的条件。其中,金融犯罪合规尤其重要。由于金融犯罪合规的复杂性以及不合规的灾难性后果(包括巨额罚款(高达数十亿)、名誉受损、客户流失、投资者失去信心、股价和商誉受到影响),金融犯罪合规在所有合规领域中的风险可能最高。

对于新的金融科技参与者来说,银行业和金融业的监管要求就是一项重大挑战。必须高度重视反洗钱和反恐怖融资(AML-CTF)以及制裁过滤要求。例如,根据PSD2指令,支付开通服务提供商已经需要接受反洗钱和反恐怖融资(AML-CTF)法规的约束。此外,新的金融科技参与者还需要满足其他要求,如资本、消费者保护、治理和监督等。

有什么解决办法?

近年来,针对上述监管要求的解决方案得到了很大发展。我们现在将其称为“监管科技”解决方案。监管科技解决方案利用最新的信息技术(如人工智能、机器学习、机器人流程自动化和区块链等新型技术)重新设计合规流程。

Accuity通过其先进的Fircosoft解决方案,早在上个世纪90年代就成为最早开发监管科技解决方案的公司之一。我们当时谈论的不是人工智能,而是人工智能的一种使能技术。这种技术模糊逻辑,已在Fircosoft产品中使用多年。

在Accuity,我们认为监管科技代表了开放式银行生态系统中所有参与者的平等机会。新型金融科技的优势在于:不必处理成本高昂的遗留系统,可以快速实现最先进的监管科技解决方案。另一方面,新的参与者可能缺乏在合规方面的经验,有时会优先发展业务,未将合规工作视为第一要务。传统的大型银行在遵守合规要求方面占据经验丰富的优势,并且拥有整合或获取其所需要的技术和资源。
采用监管科技解决方案之后,金融机构可以在保护自身声誉和利润率的同时合法地为客户开发新服务。从这个层面上看,监管科技解决方案如果能够满足那些监管风险最高(包括与违反制裁、洗钱、腐败或市场滥用有关的风险)的合规要求,就拥有最好的市场前景。

银行如何利用监管科技解决方案提高合规效率?

金融行业往往视合规为成本。Accuity认为,对于管理良好、能够安全有效地应对某些商机的公司来说,合规可以成为一种竞争优势。毫不奇怪的是,目前整个金融行业的主要重点是通过提高运营效率来优化合规成本。就这一点而言,技术一直是银行发展的关键推动因素。例如,银行早就知道自身需要专门的自动化工具,才能完成一堆复杂数据的实时制裁筛查。反洗钱/反恐怖融资和制裁相关法律法规的合规管理程序可能最适合采用监管科技解决方案。这是因为如果未能实施有力的反洗钱-反恐怖融资框架或国际制裁,银行的财务和声誉就会受到严重影响。

企业在寻求提高效率的解决方案时,务必牢记:不要在风险上妥协。如果风险偏好因公司而有所不同,那么每家公司都应完全控制其风险,并应实施与其风险偏好相匹配的监管科技解决方案和配置。这似乎是显而易见的道理。不过,我们有时会看到企业的合规程序受到其软件功能的影响——事实恰恰相反。

为了提高效率,企业会根据业务需求(例如,客户在您代为开户或转账之前可以等待多长时间)等多种因素,对合规流程进行分析或重新设计。使用监管科技,可以优化和保护工作流,自动化或协助手动任务,更好地突显和评估风险,显著降低噪音(如误报),提高合规程序的控制水平和可审核性。值得强调的是,还有一种成本动因(也被称为合规程序的“可追溯性”)也是金融行业不断增加的一种成本。

监管科技解决方案为交易、系统和决策过程提供了新的可视性,再加上机器学等新技术,可以显著提高行业的生产效率。

20多年来,Accuity一直在提供支持Fircosoft数据的技术解决方案,用以满足复杂的金融犯罪合规要求。我们作为监管科技提供商的经验甚至早于这个词的问世时间,因此我们可以帮助所有金融机构优工作流和自动化筛查流程。

监管科技如何帮助企业预防金融犯罪?

罪犯们确实在不断地调整和完善犯罪手段,以避免罪行被人发现和阻止。互联网也为罪犯的成长和转移资金开辟了新的途径。为了打击金融犯罪,银行、金融机构甚至企业现在承担着更大的监管责任,必须制定先进的解决方案和程序,防止罪犯通过金融系统清洗犯罪收益。

除了提高效率外,监管科技还能显著提高金融行业整体的筛查和风险管理水平。例如,反洗钱交易监管系统在原有的规则监测机制基础上,现在又新增了数据分析功能。监管科技帮助组织开发最先进的技术,提高收集、分析和报告相关信息的准确性和速度。此外,监管科技还引入了一种更加依据数据、更细粒度的监督方法,帮助组织在做出决策之前更好地预测并准确地评估相关风险。监管科技的优点在于:对客户体验的影响非常小,几乎为零。

然而,想要真正防止金融犯罪,技术不是最终目的,只是一种需要与其他不可或缺的资产结合使用的必要手段。所谓的“其他不可或缺的资产”包括组织对自己客户的了解,组织的教育、技术和高级管理层的强有力领导等等。

未来,我也希望监管科技能够推动建立一个公共贡献者和私人贡献者可以更加紧密协作、共同打击金融犯罪的环境。从“开放式银行”到“开放式合规”?

RegTechs: essential allies for Open Banking


These are exciting times in the RegTech space, with so many new innovations to explore and much more on the horizon. We asked Franck Lanher, EMEA Director at Accuity, about his experience of improving financial crime compliance processes with many of the world’s leading financial institutions. If you would like to learn more, Franck will be speaking on this topic at the Mobey Forum event in Paris, taking place in September.

Which RegTech solutions address the challenges and opportunities presented by open banking?

Open banking is a trajectory that is rapidly changing the market opportunity and the competitive landscape of traditional banks and financial institutions. This ecosystem is now wider and more intricate than ever.

Many new business opportunities have become accessible to a wider industry of legacy and new financial players. The PSD2 directive is an important driver of change and has unlocked potential for new services in the industry. Here are some examples of these new business opportunities:

  • Enabling consumers and small-to-medium enterprises to have oversight of the bank accounts that they hold at different banks within a single interface
  • Developing analytics around financial profiles and identifying patterns, to help consumers to manage their finances better
  • Identifying and designing the most suitable financial services products based on analysis of the data collected
  • For corporates, embedding other accounting services (such as invoicing, reconciliations, and factoring)
  • Payment initiation services: facilitating payments directly through the bank account (relying less on credit cards, checks, and cash)

While traditional banks and innovative Fintech players face different challenges to develop in this competitive market, they all have to manage compliance requirements. Compliance is mission-critical to their business and a non-negotiable condition of their activity. Financial crime compliance is particularly important, as it is probably the riskiest area of compliance, both due to its complexity and to the disastrous consequence of non-compliance, including incurring huge fines (up to billions), suffering damage to reputation, losing clients, losing investors’ confidence and affecting the stock price and goodwill.

For new Fintech players, entering the regulated world of banking and finance can be a significant challenge. Anti-money laundering and counter terrorist financing (AML-CTF) and sanctions filtering requirements should be taken very seriously. For example, under PSD2, payment initiation service providers have become subject to AML-CTF regulations. Other requirements also exist, such as capital requirements, consumer protection, governance and oversight.

What are the solutions?

Solutions to address these regulatory requirements have greatly developed in recent years. They are today referred to as RegTech solutions. RegTech solutions are using the latest information technology developments (such as artificial intelligence, machine learning, robotic process automation, and blockchain – among other innovative technologies) to redesign compliance processes.

Accuity, through its market leading Fircosoft solution suite, was one of the first to develop RegTech solutions, dating back to the 90s. We were not talking about artificial intelligence (AI) at that time, but one of AI’s enablers, fuzzy logic, which has been used in Fircosoft products for many years.

At Accuity, we believe that RegTech represents an equal opportunity for all players in the open banking ecosystem. The advantage of new Fintechs is that they don’t have to deal with costly legacy systems and can quickly natively implement the most advanced RechTech solutions for their purpose. On the other hand, these new players can lack experience in compliance and they sometimes put compliance as a secondary priority, compared to growing their business. Traditional large banks have the advantage of being experienced in the implementation of compliance requirements. They also have the resources required to integrate or acquire the technology that fits their needs.

RegTech solutions are here to allow financial institutions to legally develop new services for clients, while protecting their reputation and profit margins. To that extent, the most promising RegTech solutions are those addressing the compliance requirements causing the highest amount of regulatory risk (including risks relating to sanctions breaches, money laundering, corruption, or market abuse).

How can banks take advantage of RegTech solutions to increase efficiency?

Compliance tends to be perceived as a cost by the industry. At Accuity, we believe that it can be a competitive advantage for companies that manage it well and can safely and efficiently address certain business opportunities. Nevertheless, it is no surprise that the primary focus across the financial industry is currently to optimise compliance costs through enhanced operational efficiency. For that matter, technology has always been a key enabler for banks. For example, banks have known for a long time that they require specialised automated tools to perform real-time sanction screening of a complex set of heterogeneous lists. Compliance with regulations and laws related to AML/CTF and sanctions are probably among the most fertile fields for the adoption of RegTech solutions. This is because failures to implement robust AML-CTF frameworks or international sanctions have severely affected banks’ financials and reputation.

As businesses look for solutions to increase efficiency, they should keep in mind that no compromise should be made on risk. If the risk appetite varies from one business to another, each business should be in full control of their risk and should implement the RegTech solution and configuration that matches their risk appetite. It seems obvious, but we sometimes see businesses whose compliance procedures are influenced by the capabilities of their software – while it should be the opposite.

To increase efficiency, compliance processes need to be analysed and potentially redesigned according to multiple factors, including business requirements (for example, how long can your client wait before you open their account or transfer their money?). With RegTech, workflows can be optimised and secured, manual tasks can be automated or assisted, risks can be better highlighted and assessed, noise (e.g. false-positives) can be significantly reduced, and the level of control and auditability of processes can be enhanced. The latter cost driver, also referred to as ‘traceability’ of compliance procedures, is worth highlighting as it is a growing cost for the industry.

RegTech solutions, which provide new levels of visibility over transactions, systems and decision processes, coupled with new developments such as machine learning capabilities can result in significantly increased productivity for the industry.

At Accuity, we’ve been offering Fircosoft data-enabled technology solutions to meet complex financial crime compliance requirements for over 20 years. Our experience as a RegTech provider, before the term was even coined, allowed us to support all types of financial institutions in the optimisation of their workflows and in the automation of their screening processes. We will see at the next Mobey Forum event in Paris examples of the solutions that specifically address the efficiency challenges of financial crime compliance.

How can RegTech help prevent financial crime?

Criminals do continuously adapt and sophisticate their approaches to avoid being detected and stopped. The internet has also opened new ways for them to grow and transfer their money. In efforts to counter this, a much greater regulatory onus is now being placed on banks, financial institutions and even on corporates to have advanced solutions and processes in place to prevent the funding and the laundering of financial crime proceeds.

In addition to driving efficiency gains, RegTech delivers remarkable improvements in detection and risk management overall. For example, transaction monitoring systems in AML are now adding data analytics capabilities to the old rule-based detection mechanisms they were using. RegTech helps organisations exploit the most advanced technologies in a move to improve the accuracy and the speed at which information is gathered, analysed, and reported. It also introduces a more data-driven and granular approach to supervision, which allows organisations to better anticipate and precisely assess the risk before they make decisions. The beauty of RegTech is that it does the job with zero to very little impact on the customer experience.

However, to truly prevent financial crime, technology is not an end, but a necessary means that needs to be used in conjunction with other indispensable assets, such as an organisation’s knowledge of their own customers, together with the development of education, skills and strong senior leadership.

In the future, I also expect RegTech to drive the development of a more connected and collaborative environment of public and private contributors to the fight against financial crime. From ‘open banking’ to ‘open compliance’?