处在OFAC制裁风暴酝酿之路的海运行业


如今,海运欺诈活动日益猖獗。这引起了美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)的密切关注。

OFAC主要负责管理和执行所有基于美国对外政策的经济和贸易制裁。近日,OFAC更新了咨询文件并指出:朝鲜正在通过海运欺诈活动将货物运入美国。

在过去几周里,媒体也报道了一些与海运制裁有关的新闻,包括一些已经公布或已经被规避的海运制裁案例。例如,美国为了进一步对马杜罗政权施压,制裁了与委内瑞拉有联系的4家海运公司和9艘船舶。此外,美国指控裕信银行(UniCredit)违反多项制裁计划,包括帮助伊朗国航“伊朗伊斯兰共和国航运公司”逃避制裁。目前,裕信银行已经同意向美国当局支付一笔高达13亿美元的和解金。

此类事件十分普遍,而且不会消失。

对抗制裁破坏者

作为全球供应链的一个关键环节,贸易融资行业在国际条例方面的合规性,对于防止商品进入禁运国家而言至关重要。

然而,围绕制裁和非法海运的众多问题影响了全球贸易的生态系统,波及参与全球贸易的所有企业和个人。因此,想要提高企业和个人对这些问题的认识,我们依然任重而道远。

这就是OFAC、美国国务院和美国海岸警卫队会同时发布最新咨询文件的原因。它们此举旨在提醒所有人(包括那些为货运提供融资和保险的企业、运营港口和供应链中的其他关键参与者)务必:警惕航运欺诈行为,“实施妥善的控制措施,确保遵守自身符合相关法律要求”。

2019年3月21日,上述机构再次更新了咨询文件。

最新的指导性文件表明,OFAC的工作不仅是实施和执行制裁方案,还包括推行良好的制裁合规和风险管理规范。为此,OFAC希望海运业考虑下列三种风险:

  1. 高风险地区——OFAC提供了一份与潜在非法海运活动有关的港口清单和区域地图。
  2. 可疑的行为——OFAC指出了不少船舶通过操控或禁用船上的自动识别系统(AIS)来掩盖其非法进行“船对船货物转运”行为。上述可疑行为还包括:篡改船舶识别信息、伪造货物和船舶证明文件等。
  3. 高风险船舶——OFAC更新了能够进行“船对船货物转运”的朝鲜船舶名单。自2018年发布指导性文件以来,该名单上的船舶数量已从24艘增加至28艘。此外,OFAC还发布了另外两份船舶名单:一份是OFAC认为已经与朝鲜油轮进行“船对船货物转运”的船舶名单,还有一份是OFAC认为自2017年8月5日以来一直在出口朝鲜煤炭的船舶名单。

尽管OFAC明确表示并不一定对上述名单所列船舶实施制裁,但其中一些船舶已被列入“特别指定国民及受限制人士名单(SDN名单)”。

无论如何,海运业的从业人员不要试图规避制裁,必须考虑到与上述名单所列船舶打交道所招致的高风险。

有效降低风险

想要降低风险,首先必须尽快识别风险,这一原则适用于所有风险。然而,由于上述风险因素,想要在复杂的国际海运环境中发现制裁风险,可能是一件极其困难的事。

在贸易融资领域,只有实施强有力的尽职调查和筛查程序,才能发现潜在的制裁风险。不过,贸易融资合规性的调查和筛查工作经常会遇到许多复杂的问题,包括:

  • 贸易融资交易通常涉及大量交易对手,而所有交易对手都需要接受“了解您的客户(KYC)”审查;
  • 贸易融资中使用的许多数据和文件仍以纸质格式或非结构化格式存在,因此整个流程难以进行数字化;
  • 贸易融资中需要管理很多的国际制裁清单,才能确保筛查过程尽可能准确并跟上各类清单的变更动态。

相关组织想要在交易周期内识别和避免风险,就必须获得正确的数据和软件。贸易合规筛查技术可以帮助组织识别受制裁实体(如朝鲜)所拥有、经营或管理的船舶,并检查船舶的历史行程,从而确定船舶是否到过任何受制裁港口。

实时记录风险

贸易合规筛查技术还可以帮助组织跟踪相关船舶的名称变更历史。变更船名是一种常见欺诈手段,很难人工监测。例如,有一艘原名为“SAM MA 2”的船舶,在2018年被列入OFAC制裁名单之后,改名为“MYONG SIN”,又于2019年再次被列入OFAC制裁名单。

组织可以通过等待OFAC发布新的制裁名单,实时了解潜在的制裁风险。任何组织想要保护自身的业务和声誉,都必须主动发现危险信号。

例如,一艘名为“亚洲荣誉号(ASIA HONOR)”的船舶虽曾在2017年6月23日到访过朝鲜纳津港,但却未被列入OFAC于2018年2月发布的制裁名单。

完善的贸易合规筛查软件可以发现此类风险并提醒组织注意,即使监管机构也做不到这一点。

OFAC提出的一些风险模式显示,组织必须采取更加谨慎的方法,才能识别与贸易有关的风险。

组织在同意提供交易融资之前必须进行的复杂尽职调查,但这项要求已经超出尽职调查的范围。因此,组织必须持续保持警惕,识别其他危险信号(例如,船舶靠近受制裁或高风险的港口,或者船舶关闭自动识别系统的追踪器)。

降低贸易融资交易中的制裁风险是一大难题,也是OFAC的关注焦点。

参与贸易的各个组织必须积极主动地应对风险。

Shipping Industry in Direct Path of Brewing OFAC Storm


Deceptive shipping activity is on the rise.

It is also attracting an increased focus from OFAC, the US Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control.

Responsible for issuing and enforcing sanctions based on US foreign policy, OFAC recently updated its advisory documentation to raise awareness of some of the deceptive shipping practices deployed specifically by North Korea to get goods into the country.

Over the past few weeks, the media has also reported several stories relating to shipping sanctions that have either been issued or evaded. For example, the US sanctioned four shipping companies and nine ships with ties to Venezuela, in efforts to step up pressure on President Maduro’s regime. Additionally, UniCredit has agreed a $1.3bn settlement over allegations it violated several US sanctions programmes, including helping Iran’s national shipping company, Islamic Republic of Iran Shipping Lines, to evade sanctions.

The issue is widespread and it’s not going away.

Battling the Sanctions Busters

The trade finance community is a crucial link in the global supply chain, and its compliance with international regulations is pivotal in preventing commodities from reaching embargoed countries.

Yet, much work is needed to raise awareness of the issues surrounding sanctions and illicit shipping activity, which affects the entire ecosystem of businesses and individuals involved in global trade.

That is why OFAC, along with the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Coast Guard, released its latest advisory documents. The goal is to make everyone – including those businesses financing and insuring shipments, the operating ports, and other key players in the supply chain – aware of these practices, and to “implement appropriate controls to ensure compliance with their legal requirements.”

On 21st March 2019, these same parties issued an updated advisory notice.

The latest guidance demonstrates that OFAC’s mandate is not solely to implement and enforce sanctions programs, but also to promote good sanctions compliance and risk management practices. It does so by inviting the shipping industry to account for three types of risk:

  1. High-risk areas – OFAC has provided a list of ports and a map of areas that it associates with potential illicit shipping practices.
  2. Suspicious practices – OFAC has highlighted the issue of vessels manipulating or disabling their Automatic Identification System (AIS) in order to conceal the illegal ship-to-ship transfer of goods. Suspicious practices also include altering the identification of vessels and falsifying cargo and vessel documentation.
  3. High-risk vessels – OFAC has updated the list of North Korean vessels capable of engaging in ship-to-ship transfers (from 24 to 28 since the 2018 guidance). It has also issued two further lists of vessels that are believed to have engaged in ship-to-ship transfers with North Korean tankers, and to have exported North Korean Coal since August 5, 2017.

While OFAC makes it clear that the vessels named in this guidance are not necessarily subject to sanctions, some of them are included in the Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons list (SDN list).

In any case, professionals in the shipping industry need to account for the high risk of conducting business with the vessels identified in these advisories, by thoroughly assessing and mitigating any attempt to evade sanctions.

Mitigating Risk Effectively

As with any risk, identifying it as quickly as possible is the preliminary step to any form of mitigation. However, considering the risk factors mentioned above, detecting sanctions risks within the complex international shipping environment can prove extremely difficult.

Trade finance is one of the areas that requires a robust due diligence and screening process, in order to detect potential sanctions risks. However, trade compliance screening comes with a number of complexities, including:

  • Trade finance transactions often involve a large number of counterparties that all need to undergo KYC checks;
  • Much of the data and documentation used in trade finance is still paper-based or in an unstructured format, making it difficult to digitalise the process;
  • There are numerous international reference lists to manage to ensure the screening process is as accurate and up to date as possible.

To identify and avoid risk during the trade lifecycle, it is critical for the organisations involved to have the right data and software in place. Trade compliance screening technology can help to identify vessels that are owned, operated, or managed by sanctioned entities (such as North Korea), as well as check ships’ historical journeys to determine whether they have visited any sanctioned ports.

Registering Risks in Real Time

Trade compliance technology can also help organisations to keep track of vessel name changes as they occur, which is a common deceptive practice and difficult to manage manually. For instance, the vessel named “SAM MA 2” that was listed on the 2018 OFAC advisory has since changed its name to “MYONG SIN”, and was listed on the 2019 advisory.

By waiting for new advisory notices to come out, organisations can become exposed to the potential risks that occur in real time. In order to protect their business and its reputation, it is important for them to be proactive in spotting red flags themselves.

A further example is that a vessel named “ASIA HONOR” was not listed on the February 2018 advisory, even though it had visited the port of Najin, North Korea on June 23rd, 2017.

Sophisticated trade compliance software can spot such activity and alert the organisation to the risk, even if the regulator does not.

Some of the risk patterns OFAC has called out suggests that a more prudent approach to identifying risks related to trade is needed.

This goes beyond the complex due diligence that must be conducted prior to agreeing to finance a transaction, and requires ongoing vigilance to identify other red flags, such as when a ship approaches a sanctioned or high-risk port or when they turn off their AIS tracker.

The challenge of mitigating sanctions risks in trade finance transactions is firmly on OFAC’s radar.

Organisations involved in trade must be proactive to stay ahead of the risks.