剖析出口管理条例



考虑到时下的全球监管环境,参与到货物贸易和运输的金融机构、物流公司和贸易公司处境压力不小。监管条例不仅规定了应如何开展贸易,必须采取哪些措施确保运输过程中的安全性,还限制了公司可以建立业务关系的对象。

如今,这一挑战有可能对国际贸易业务的运营产生重大影响。除了其他监管考虑因素外,一些国家和地区的金融机构、物流公司和货运代理还必须遵守国际贸易条例和出口管制。

竞争威胁

金融机构和物流公司的业务规模越大,就对相关监管条例的限制越敏感,导致破坏性后果的可能性也就越大。金融机构和企业的竞争力通常随着其全球影响力和所提供服务的多样性的增长而增强。随着这些机构发展壮大和服务范围扩大,贸易制裁和出口管制条例的不断变化将加剧违规风险。

美国商务部工业安全局(BIS是执行此类条例的权威机构。工业安全局的作用是通过确保有效的出口管制和条约遵守体系以及促进美国继续保持战略技术领先地位,推进美国的国家安全、外交政策和经济目标

具体而言,工业安全局致力于防止大规模杀伤性武器核武器化学武器生物武器)及其运输和传播。通过提高物理安全,利用封锁和制裁,积极加入防扩散安全倡议,工业安全局促进美国的和平与安全。这些制裁导致各种限制和禁令,影响在美国开展业务的国内和全球组织。

华为案例

对中国知名手机制造商华为的近期禁令突显了制裁的瞬息万变。

20195月,美国总统签署了一项法案,将华为列入禁止实体名单,宣称这样有利于保护美国的通信网络。相关规则限制了美国公司可以与华为合作的业务类型,影响辐射全球范围,对物流行业产生特殊影响。

这项指令授予美国商务部长权力,禁止任何涉及由“外国威胁者”所控制公司开发的通信技术的交易,此类“外国威胁者”将美国的安全置于不可接受的风险或对美国网络造成间谍或破坏的威胁。

在具体操作上,这意味着金融机构、物流公司或货运代理需要对每一笔运输单据进行检查,确认华为是否是货运的一方。同样,出口管理条例中发布的商业管制清单所列出的项目(如技术和电信)也需要彻底检查,避免违反出口管制要求在未经授权的情况下向华为提供。

变化常在

据几家新闻媒体报道,20197月初,美国总统似乎正在重新考虑华为的制裁问题。

在与中国主席会晤后,有消息称某些业务活动或特定商品(如手机)交易可能会部分解除制裁。相关实体甚至可能完全从制裁名单中移除。

在如此短的时间内,政治变化和不确定性的程度证明了如何利用制裁执行外交政策,以及如何在转瞬之间将实体列入或移除名单。尽管变化不断,但每个人都必须适应并确保自己的业务符合频繁变化的清单。华为案例突出了制裁和出口管制的复杂性和瞬息万变。

当考虑到每天处理的不计其数的贸易或货运时,此类条例对于金融机构和物流公司来说变得更加复杂。单单一个实体被列入或移出制裁黑名单,就可能会影响数千笔交易或数千件货物——通常黑名单每周会多次变更。如果再加上出口管制限制,操作上变得难以管理。

万事俱备

金融机构和物流公司必须依靠高质量和经常更新的数据来掌握不断变化的受制裁实体名单。及时更新的数据是健全完善的制裁和出口合规流程的支柱。

第二个秘诀就是自动化。通过数字化和自动化贸易合规流程,可以对贸易和运输单据实时执行制裁和出口合规检查。这包括筛查托运人和受托人(包括其地址),确定运输的货物和路线在整个过程中是否受到任何限制。

面对当前监管环境中的乱象,最新数据和自动筛查相结合可以减轻复杂性并降低制裁和出口管制违规的风险。另一个激励因素是,除了监管保护之外,这种方法还可以提高整项业务的效率。

通过实施正确的贸易合规数据和技术,金融机构和物流公司可以确保蓄势待发实现增长,零风险抓住机遇。

Keeping Up With Export Administration Regulations


In the current regulatory landscape, trade companies that facilitate the movement of goods don’t have it easy. Regulations dictate how trade should be conducted, the measures that must be taken to ensure security during transportation, and who firms can do business with.

Now this challenge has the potential to significantly impact operations for international cargo organisations. On top of the other regulatory considerations, cargo carriers and forwarders must address international trade regulations and export controls.

Competitive Threat

The more competitive a carrier is, the more applicable the regulations are and the greater the potential to lead to damaging consequences. Competitiveness often increases with the growth of a firm, its global footprint, and the variety of services it provides. As carriers and forwarders grow and expand their offerings, the risk of non-compliance is heightened by the evolving landscape of trade sanctions and export control regulations.

The US Department of Commerce’s Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) is one authority enforcing such regulations. Its role is to ‘advance U.S. national security, foreign policy, and economic objectives by ensuring an effective export control and treaty compliance system and promoting continued U.S. strategic technology leadership.’

Specifically, the BIS drives efforts to prevent the spread of weapons of mass destruction (nuclearchemical, and biological weapons) and their delivery systems. It promotes the peace and security of the US by improving physical security, using interdiction and sanctions, and actively participating in the Proliferation Security Initiative. These sanctions lead to various restrictions and prohibitions that impact both domestic and global organisations that conduct business in the US.

The Huawei Case

The latest restrictions on Huawei, a well-established manufacturer of mobile phones from China, highlight how quickly sanctions can change.

In May 2019, the President of the United States signed a bill that placed Huawei on a list of prohibited organisations, claiming that this would protect US communication networks. These rules limited the types of business US companies can do with Huawei, with worldwide implications and a particular effect on the transportation sector.

The order authorises the US Secretary of Commerce to block any transaction involving communication technologies, built by companies controlled by a foreign adversary that puts US security at ‘unacceptable’ risk or poses a threat of espionage or sabotage to US networks.

In operational terms, this means that every shipment booking that is issued as a House Waybill or Air Waybill should alert the carrier or forwarder if the entity ‘Huawei’ is named as a party in the shipment. Similarly, items listed on the commerce and control list issued by the Export Administration Regulation (EAR), such as technology and telecommunication, should ring alarm bells and require a thorough check.

Change is a Constant

According to several news outlets, in early July 2019 the US President appeared to be rethinking the Huawei sanctions.

After meeting with China’s President, it was intimated that there may be a partial lift of sanctions relating to certain activities (such as financial transactions) or for the trade of particular goods (such as mobile phones). Those entities could even be removed from the sanctions list altogether.

The level of political change and uncertainty within such a short period of time demonstrates how sanctions are used to enforce foreign policy, and how entities can be listed or removed at the blink of an eye. Despite the constant state of flux, everyone must adapt and ensure their business is compliant with the frequently changing lists. The Huawei case serves to highlight the complexity and volatility of sanctions and export controls.

Regulations like these grow even more complex for global shipping companies when you consider that the volume of shipments processed each day can easily run into the millions. Just one single entity added to or removed from a sanctions list can affect thousands of shipments – and often multiple alterations are made each day. If you then throw export control restrictions into the mix, operations can seem unmanageable.

Getting Shipshape

It is imperative for cargo carriers and forwarders to rely on high quality and frequently updated data to stay on top of the ever-changing lists of sanctioned entities. Up-to-date information is the backbone of a robust sanctions and export compliance process.

The second string carriers must add to their bow is automation. By digitalising and automating the trade compliance process, it is possible to perform sanctions and export compliance checks on every single booking and House Waybill in real-time. This includes screening the shipper and consignee (including their address), and identifying whether the shipped goods are subject to any restrictions throughout the shipping process.

In the face of the monster that is the current regulatory landscape, the combination of up-to-date data and automated screening can alleviate complexity and mitigate the risk of sanctions and export control violations. An added incentive is that, beyond regulatory protection, this approach can also drive efficiency across the business.

By implementing the right trade compliance data and technology, carriers can ensure they are well-poised for growth and equipped to seize opportunities without risk.