互联网公司:打击金融犯罪的新前沿


犯罪分子的手段可谓是花样翻新。当一扇门关上时,他们会寻找另一扇门。在打击金融犯罪的国际斗争中,传统银行在监管机构的敦促下稳步加强了合规计划。于是犯罪分子将目光投向了其他地方——提供在线游戏、电子商务、社交媒体和流媒体直播的互联网平台成为了一个富有吸引力的目标 (英文),因为大量的资金在这些互联网平台上匿名流通。

网络世界是一个很容易隐藏身份的地方,大量的资金经常出于各种隐晦的目的易手。以在线游戏平台为例,玩家通常会为游戏中的选项或积分付费。这些不透明的交易从本质上为任何想隐瞒巨额资金来源的人提供了正当的解释。对于洗钱者来说,名人和网红接受礼物或出售产品的流媒体直播是另一个富有吸引力的选项——一系列虚假账户可能成为难以追踪的资金转移渠道。

这些市场规模庞大,增长迅速,在新冠肺炎疫情期间获得了额外的助力。在线游戏行业的年增长率约为9%,到2025年市场规模预计 (英文)将超过2500亿美元,而流媒体直播观看小时数 (英文)则在2020年飙升了99%。这种增长势头以及利用数字渠道进行金融犯罪的巨大潜力正在引起世界各地监管机构的关注。对于互联网公司来说,这会产生深远影响,我们在最近与香港金融科技协会共同主办的网络研讨会上详细讨论了这方面的内容,具体请见这里 (英文)

监管机构正在日益关注
近些年来,围绕制裁的监管机构行动和审查稳步增加。Accuity的Sanctions Pulse显示,三大监管机构——美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)、欧盟和联合国——在2020年对他们的制裁名单更新了210次;自2019年以来,仅美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)开出的与制裁有关的罚款就超过了13亿美元。其他国家也在增加他们的制裁活动;2020年9月,中国商务部宣布了建立不可靠实体清单 (英文)制度的提案。

最初的时候,金融服务业是监管机构关注的重点,但制裁风险可能触及任何业务。例如,任何涉及美元支付的实体都将受到美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)的关注。美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)制裁的300多家实体总部设在亚洲,但更加重要的是,大多数外汇交易在某个阶段都涉及美元兑换——这意味着美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)将对此进行关注。

最近,监管机构扩大了他们的监管范围。2020年,反洗钱金融行动特别工作组(FATF)明确指出,其建议 (英文)应适用于洗钱风险较高的非金融企业和行业——包括虚拟货币托管钱包服务和加密货币-法币交易。反洗钱金融行动特别工作组(FATF)最近颁布了旨在防止滥用虚拟资产 (英文)进行洗钱和资助恐怖主义分子的标准,这实际上意味着虚拟资产和资产服务提供商必须采取与金融机构相同的基于风险的方法 (英文)来防范洗钱和恐怖主义融资活动。

亚洲的监管机构也纷纷效仿。例如,新加坡金融管理局于2020年出台了《支付服务法案》(英文),以对加密货币行业进行更好的监管,并于2021年修订了该法案,以反映数字支付代币活动的发展。

监管机构不怕采取行动。在过去两年的时间里,两家主要互联网公司因违反制裁规定受到了美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)的处罚——这是因为他们的内部制裁筛查系统存在缺陷。这些违规行为是主动上报的,罚款金额很小,但这些案例凸显了互联网平台可能面临的监管、财务和声誉风险。

互联网公司需要建立自己的防御体系
实际上,传统银行和互联网平台是紧密的合作伙伴。不管交易是如何产生的,它们都不可避免地要通过银行进行;互联网公司是“传统”银行业最重要的客户之一。

这很重要,因为监管机构已经让银行成为了打击金融犯罪国际斗争的“守门人”,银行日益将非金融公司视为其最重要的制裁风险领域之一——LexisNexis Risk Solution的研究发现,在银行生成的所有可疑活动报告中,有四分之一涉及非银行支付提供商1。银行会开展复杂的制裁筛查——但随着犯罪分子不断寻找薄弱环节,互联网公司能否继续依赖银行作为他们的主要防线?

答案肯定是否定的。监管机构的行动方向是明确的;互联网公司必须迅速采取措施加强自身防御。这些企业面临的挑战是制定一个制裁合规计划,既要对金融犯罪进行管理并将金融犯罪风险降到最低,又要保证客户体验,而客户体验则是互联网公司的独特卖点。

建立健全的合规体系
毫无疑问,互联网公司在合规方面面临着独特的挑战,特别是考虑到网络世界的匿名性。任何人都可以从任何地方访问互联网平台。但考虑到市场上现有的先进技术解决方案,建立稳健的防御体系并不困难或复杂。好消息是,与传统银行业相比,互联网公司在金融犯罪合规方面享有明显优势:

  • 他们不需要应对大多数传统银行面临的遗留技术基础设施问题——实施数字合规解决方案相对简单
  • 他们乐于接受数字化转型
  • 更加干净的客户行为数据让他们能够进行更好的分析,而这则有助于发现不寻常的活动
  • 他们动作敏捷,行动迅速。

在一些领域,互联网公司处于不利地位——最明显的是,他们在金融犯罪合规方面缺乏直接经验——但一般来说,实施客户开户及监测体系是一个简单的过程。

实现无缝合规的六大步骤
合规计划的设计应当与每家公司面临的具体风险相匹配——一些地区、产品和客户(例如高净值个人或空壳公司)的风险更高——但成功合规计划的共同基础是自动化。Accuity的Firco平台等解决方案通过一系列无缝直通处理步骤引入了稳健而快速的筛查检查:

  1. 在开户时——数字KYC系统自动检查数字身份(wifi连接、电子邮件地址等)过去与金融犯罪无关
  2. 身份验证——使用来自照片ID或护照的数据,对真实性进行自动检查
  3. 进行全面的身份验证,包括全名、地址和电话号码。
  4. 利用来自世界各地主要监管机构、执法机构和媒体的最新名单进行制裁、政要人物和负面媒体检查
  5. 定期检查状态变化
  6. 持续的实时数字监测

这种方法意味着只在出现异常时发出警报,从而减少手动检查误报警报所花费的时间和精力。由此一来,这个体系既能够确保流畅且快速响应的客户体验,又能将公司面临的风险降到最低,让互联网公司领先监管机构一步。

Accuity如何提供帮助
隶属于LexisNexis® Risk Solutions Group的Accuity在亚洲一直走在帮助机构打击金融犯罪的前列。我们的解决方案被亚洲地区的银行和其他领先金融机构所采用,让他们能够履行其合规义务,同时保持最佳的客户体验。

我们的客户依赖于我们数据的质量和相关度。例如,我们的Firco全球监管名单数据库汇集了来自所有主要制裁机构、执法机构和金融监管机构的警告名单。

Internet Companies: The New Frontier in the Fight Against Financial Crime


Criminals are endlessly innovative. When one door closes, they look for another. In the international fight against financial crime regulators have prompted traditional banks to steadily tighten their compliance programs. Criminals are looking elsewhere – and internet platforms such as gaming, e-commerce, social media and live streaming where large amounts of money circulate anonymously are an appealing target.

The online world is an easy place to hide your identity and large amounts of money routinely change hands for opaque purposes. Take for example online gaming platforms, where players routinely pay for in-game options or credits. These non-transparent transactions provide a legitimate explanation for anyone who wants to hide the source of a large amount of money. Live streaming, where celebrities and influencers receive gifts or sell products, is another appealing option for money launderers. A series of fake accounts acts as a conduit for money transfers that are difficult to track.

These are large and fast-growing markets which have been given an extra boost during the COVID-19 pandemic. The online gaming industry is growing by around 9% a year and is expected to be worth more than US$250 billion by 2025, while live streaming hours watched soared by 99% in 2020. This growth and the huge potential for financial crime through digital channels is drawing the attention of regulators around the world. This has significant implications for internet companies, which we discussed at a recent webinar co-hosted with the Fintech Association of Hong Kong.

Regulators are Watching
Regulator action and scrutiny around sanctions has steadily increased in recent years. The Accuity Sanctions Pulse shows that three of the major regulators – the US Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC), the European Union and the United Nations – updated their sanctions lists 210 times in 2020. Sanctions-related fines issued by OFAC alone exceeded $1.3 billion in 2019. Other countries are also increasing their sanctions activity; in September 2020 China’s Ministry of Commerce announced proposals to introduce an Unreliable Entity List regime.

The financial services sector was initially the focus for regulators’ attention, but sanctions risk can touch any business. Any entity that deals with U.S. dollar payments, for example, will come under OFAC’s spotlight. More than 300 OFAC-sanctioned entities are based in Asia but more importantly, most foreign exchange transactions involve a dollar conversion at some stage. That means that OFAC will take an interest.

Regulators have widened their scope more recently. The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) specified in 2020 that its recommendations should apply to non-financial businesses and professions with a high risk of money laundering – including virtual currency custodian wallet services and crypto-fiat exchanges. The FATF recently issued standards designed to prevent the misuse of virtual assets for money laundering and terrorist financing, which effectively means that virtual asset and asset service providers must adopt the same risk-based approach to anti money laundering and counter terrorist financing that applies to financial institutions.

Individual regulators in Asia are following suit. The Monetary Authority of Singapore, for example, introduced its Payment Services Act in 2020 to better regulate the cryptocurrency sector and amended the Act in 2021 to reflect developments in digital payment token activities.

Regulators are not afraid to act. Two major internet companies have been issued penalties by OFAC for sanctions violations in the past two years as a result of deficiencies in their in-house sanctions screening systems. The breaches were self-reported and the fines small but the cases have highlighted the regulatory, financial and reputational risk that internet platforms could face.

Internet Companies Need their Own Defenses
Traditional banks and internet platforms are, in reality, close partners. Irrespective of how transactions are generated, they are inevitably routed through banks. Internet companies are some of the most important customers for the ‘traditional’ banking sector.

This matters because regulators have made banks the gatekeepers in the international fight against financial crime and banks increasingly see non-financial companies as one of their most significant areas of sanctions risk. Results from the LexisNexis Risk Solution True Cost of Compliance survey found that a quarter of all suspicious activity reports generated by banks involved a non-bank payment provider. Banks carry out sophisticated sanctions screening – but in a world where criminals are constantly looking for weaknesses, can internet companies continue to rely on banks to be their main line of defense?

The answer is categorically no. The direction of movement from regulators is clear; internet companies must quickly take steps to strengthen their own defenses. The challenge for these businesses is putting a sanctions compliance program in place that manages and minimizes the risk of financial crime in a way that preserves the customer experience – the unique selling point for internet companies.

Creating a Robust Compliance System
There is no doubt that internet companies face unique challenges around compliance and most significantly the anonymity of the online world. Internet platforms are accessible by anyone from anywhere. But given the sophisticated technology-based solutions available on the market, setting up robust defenses need not be difficult or complex.

The good news is that internet companies have a distinct advantage over the traditional banking sector when it comes to financial crime compliance:

  • None of the legacy technology infrastructure issues that most traditional banks have grappled with
  • Comfortable with digital transformation
  • Cleaner customer behaviour data that allows for better analysis to help spot unusual activity
  • Agile and can move quickly

There are some areas where internet companies are at a disadvantage. Most notably they have little direct experience of financial crime compliance but generally, implementing customer onboarding and monitoring systems is a straightforward process.

Six Steps to Seamless Compliance
A compliance program should be designed to match the specific risks that each company faces. Some geographies, products and customers (such as high net worth individuals or shell companies) are riskier than others but the common thread underpinning successful compliance is automation. Financial crime screening solutions introduce robust and rapid screening checks through a series of seamless straight-through-processing steps:

  1. Background checks – digital KYC systems automatically check that the digital identity (such as the Wi-Fi connection and email address) has not been connected with financial crime in the past
  2. Identify verification – data from a photo ID or passport is automatically checked for authenticity
  3. Full identity verification takes place, including full name, address and phone number
  4. Sanctions, PEP and adverse media checks are applied using the latest lists from major regulators, law enforcement agencies and media outlets around the world
  5. Periodic checks for changes in status
  6. Ongoing digital monitoring in real time

This approach means that alerts are only raised on an exception basis, reducing the amount of time and effort spent on manually checking false positive alerts. The result is a system that maintains a smooth and responsive customer experience but minimises risk for the company and keeps internet companies one step ahead of the criminals.