如何令客户尽职调查实现转型


Dalbir Sahota
客户是什么样的人?

这是一个很基本的问题,看似简单却需要耗费大把时间、通过许多步骤才能确定答案并评估潜在风险。

核实客户信息可以确定是否可以与之开展业务,换言之就是确定客户是否为制裁实体,然后再确定是否应该与之开展业务。每家机构都有独特的风险偏好。“可以”与客户开展业务和“应该”与之开展业务并不是同一个概念。

许多金融机构发现,收集信息以满足了解你的客户 (Know Your Customer (KYC)) 要求的过程障碍重重。从尽职调查、黑名单筛查、风险评估到质量保证,不同的系统、分散的业务环节和手工化的操作都会阻碍 KYC 流程的数据流收集。

此外,随着相关监管规定的与日俱增,履行 KYC 合规义务愈加困难,费用也越来越高。根据 Accuity 2017 年调查显示,76% 的受访者表示,其所面临的最大难题之一就是合规成本的上升,近四分之一的受访者表示,缩短人工操作用时“难度特别大”。

加强对人员、计划以及流程这三大关键领域的关注,可以减轻合规压力,并实现人工操作自动化,进而提高效率。

Top Ways to Transform Your KYC Operations

人员的关键作用

即便出色的技术解决方案可被视为运营成功的关键因素,但仅仅依靠技术,项目是很难成功的。

人员才是智力资本,其影响可以直接决定项目的成败。最有效的 KYC 操作可以优化技术与人员的综合能力。

对“人员”的关注要从领导层开始做起,制定 KYC 转型战略时,高层承诺至关重要。这一点有助于消除障碍,促进利益相关者之间的交流,为推进项目提供所需的投资支持。

转型项目一经批准并正式投入实施后,人员通常是识别风险的第一道防线,因此也是您最宝贵的资产。
在培训方面加大投资,有助于磨练员工的技能,使其随时了解最新法规,并可持续提升员工的专业水平。我们应积极参与行业研讨会及会议,分享各自的观点,紧跟市场发展的步伐,并向其他面临相同挑战的组织机构取经。

健全管理的计划

对计划的实施效果进行衡量,需要利用结构、目标以及明确的业绩指标。

为确保成功完成 KYC 转型计划,必须在正常业务框架的基础上建立管理规范。应在组织内指定一个机构,负责业务变更的关键性决策,并成立一个项目工作组,负责管理日常的业务难题。最后,还应明确角色与职责,并建立重大问题的上报渠道。

确保长期转型取得成功的最佳管理法则包括:

  • 制定一系列原则
  • 对 KYC 政策、流程及程序进行简化,并实现标准化
  • 在技术上实现自动化,进而提高可持续性

利用数据进行流程整合

最后,确保 KYC 转型取得成功的另一大关键因素是解决现有流程中的难题,尤其是数据质量问题。

数据是所有流程的基础,因此必须密切关注数据有效性以及整体数据管理。应明确数据的格式和使用方式、对数据进行结构化和非结构化处理的判断依据,以及会对最终结果产生影响的其他属性。还应确保数据流无缝,可从源头至终点跟踪数据,使该过程完全实现透明化。

渣打银行金融犯罪合规控制全球主管 Markus Schulz 最近在 Accuity 客户峰会 (Accuity Customer Summit) 上提醒与会者:“管理金融犯罪合规控制有三大重点:数据、数据,还是数据。”不管技术如何进步,“废进废出”的原则仍然适用。相关组织只有明确这一点,同时意识到自己本质上其实是提供银行服务的数据公司,方能获得成功。”

流程改进的目标是摆脱业务、产品以及地理上的孤岛效应,从而描绘出显示客户风险的单一视图。完整、统一的客户视图有助于:

  • 提高生产力
  • 优化风险预测
  • 提高合规度
  • 提高客户满意度

具备其他所有要素后,还需要掌握相关技术——如 KYC 解决方案(例如规则引擎、案例管理)、人工智能 (AI) 以及 应用编程接口 (API)等,如此才能最终实现可持续性高效率及高效益。应利用 KPI 衡量成效,定期进行测试,以评估设计及操作有效性的风险率缺陷,并制定解决问题的行动计划。

规划未来

解决 KYC 方面的难题并没有一招制胜的法宝。尽管转型不可能一蹴而就,但确立合适的框架仍有助于将 KYC 融入日常业务,并取得持续性的成功。

欢迎进一步了解 Bankers Almanac Risk & Compliance Portfolio ,以及如何开展客户尽职调查 (KYC),从而满足金融对手方的要求。

How to Transform Your KYC Operations


Who is my customer?

This is a fundamental and seemingly simple question that launches a time-consuming, multi-step process to identify and assess potential risk.

Verifying customer information allows you to determine if you can do business with them – in other words, are they a sanctioned entity – and subsequently, should you do business with them? Every institution has a unique risk appetite. Just because you can do business with a customer, doesn’t mean that you should.

Many financial institutions find that gathering the information needed to meet Know Your Customer (KYC) requirements is fraught with hurdles. Disparate systems, business silos and manual processes all hinder the flow of data which feeds the KYC process – from due diligence, screening, risk assessment and quality assurance.

In addition, the increasing number of regulations make meeting KYC compliance obligations more difficult and more expensive than ever. According to 2017 research by Accuity, 76% of respondents said that one of their top challenges was the rising cost of compliance, with nearly one-quarter indicating that reducing time spent on manual tasks is ‘very challenging’.

Easing the compliance burden, automating manual tasks and becoming more efficient can be supported by focusing on three key areas: people, programmes and processes.

People play a pivotal role

While the right technology solution can be seen as the be-all and end-all in operational success, projects rarely succeed on technology alone.

People are your intellectual capital. Their influence can directly impact whether a project flourishes, flounders or fails outright. The most effective KYC operations optimise the combined capabilities of technology and humans.

The focus on ‘people’ starts at the top. The importance of gaining senior-level commitment can’t be emphasised enough when developing a KYC transformation strategy. It will unlock barriers, open communication among the multiple stakeholders and provide the investment support needed to move forward.

Once the transformation project is approved and underway, people continue to be your most valuable asset since they are often the first line of defence in identifying risk.
Invest in training so valued employees can hone skills, keep abreast of changing regulations and continually build their expertise. Participate in industry workshops and conferences to share insights, keep pace with market developments, and learn from other organisations facing common challenges.

Programmes with robust governance

Programmes need structure, goals and defined performance indicators to measure results.

To ensure the success of your KYC transformation programme, establish governance alongside your business as usual framework. Designate an authority within your organisation for key decisions covering operational change and a project working group to manage the day-to-day operational challenges. Finally, roles and responsibilities should be clearly defined by providing escalation channels for major issues.

Governance best practices for long-term transformation success include:

  • Developing a series of principles
  • Standardising and simplifying KYC policies, processes and procedures
  • Implementing automation through technology for sustainability

Data brings processes together

The final key to unlocking KYC transformation success is to address the challenges of existing processes, particularly data quality.

Since data is the foundation for all processes, pay close attention to data hygiene and overall data management. Identify how data is formatted and used, what must be structured versus unstructured, and other attributes that will impact final results. Ensure that data flow is seamless and that data can be tracked from source to destination for full transparency.

As Markus Schulz, Global Head of FCC Controls at Standard Chartered Bank, recently reminded attendees at the Accuity Customer Summit, “There are three priorities in managing financial crime compliance controls: data, data, data. No matter how technology advances, the ‘good-old garbage in, garbage out’ principle still holds true. Organisations that realise this and understand that they are, in essence, a data company offering banking services, will succeed.”

The goal of process improvements is to evolve to a single view of client risk by moving away from business, product and geographic silos. An integrated, holistic view of the client will:

  • Increase productivity
  • Enrich the risk profile
  • Facilitate regulatory compliance
  • Increase client satisfaction

With all other elements in place, the right technology is the final enabler to sustainable efficiency and effectiveness through KYC solutions (e.g. rules engine, case management), artificial intelligence (AI), and application programing interfaces (APIs). Measure success against KPIs and test regularly to rate design and operational effectiveness risk-rate deficiencies, and form action plans to address issues.

Charting the future

There is no silver bullet to solve KYC challenges. While transformation does not happen overnight, having the proper framework in place can help ensure it becomes part of your day-to-day KYC DNA and contributes to ongoing success.

Learn more about Bankers Almanac Risk & Compliance Portfolio and how it can support your financial counterparty Know Your Customer (KYC) requirements.