不断发展的支付生态系统给企业财务人员带来了新的挑战


支付生态系统没有任何放缓增长的迹象,特别是考虑到未来可预计的国内支付和跨境支付的数量和价值。事实上,麦肯锡在《2019年全球支付报告》中预测:支付市场的收入将在2023年超过2.7万亿美元。

技术进步创造了无数新的支付轨道和方案,客户可根据需要从中选择。这些新的支付轨道和方案与传统的支付方式相互竞争与互补。随着技术的不断进步,支付市场的收入还会往上攀升。

根据这一趋势,各个企业的财务部未来处理支付业务的成本可能会大幅增加。事实上, 2019年财务管理专业人士协会(Association of Financial Professionals)最近发布的一份报告披露:企业财务主管2020年及未来的核心目标之一是提高支付流程效率和实现整体运营成本效率。

为了实现这些目标,财务管理系统和企业资源规划系统正在迅速发展。企业财务人员现在可使用的支付渠道越来越多,这也增加了支付流程融入业务流程的复杂性。对于企业来说,保持银行主数据记录中的支付信息质量并确保支付更快更智能,这项工作比以往任何时候都要重要。

通过访问更相关、更新和更准确的数据,企业可以更好地理解客户的独特需求,提供更为量身定制的支付服务,从而最大限度地改善客户体验,并增加客户关系的 “粘性”。实现这一艰难平衡后,企业与客户就能建立持久且互利的业务关系。

持续的挑战

企业财务主管还需要跟上支付市场的发展步伐,了解新兴支付技术是否适用于自身组织(及更大范围)的运营。

根据我们客户的反馈,有些问题总是令他们寝食难安:

  • 支付的确定性:实时支付事件、国内快捷支付网络,以及监管推动的金融科技支付创新(如PSD2(开放式银行))正在缩短支付时间,降低企业流动性可获得性的部分压力。
  • 总成本的降低:企业放弃银行提供的传统支付轨道并转用非银行(如金融科技公司(fintechs)和支付服务供应商(PSPs))提供的便宜轨道之后,企业获得的好处除了支付稳定性之外,还有运营成本的显著降低。
  • 全球支付合规:就大多数公司的支付策略而言,优化的直通式处理(STP)仍然是企业的一个关键目标。如果各个企业能够监测对外支付是否符合最佳支付规范(例如,验证收款人的付款指令数据是否符合现行银行路径和监管要求,并且根据全球银行制裁名单预先筛选代理行和收款行),那么它们离这一目标就更近了一步。
  • 未来的验证技术系统:在意识到“技术将对未来盈利能力产生重大影响”以及“企业必须持续投资可以提高效率的创新活动”之后,企业财务人员必须制定充分的规划和预算。

支付创新面临的未来挑战

在支付环境日新月异的大背景下,企业不可避免地需要不断设法确定哪些支付方式可以确保满足客户对无感支付(frictionless payment)流程的需求。同时,企业必须最大程度降低与支付有关的持续核心运营成本以及合规风险/流动性风险。

进一步了解Accuity为企业财务部门提供的其他支付方案

Growing Payments Ecosystem Poses New Challenges for Corporate Treasurers


Growth in the payments ecosystem shows no sign of slowing down, particularly when we consider the predicted future level of volume and value of domestic and cross border payments. In fact McKinsey in their 2019 Global Payments Map Report predicts that the payments market will surpass $2.7 trillion in revenues by 2023.

These numbers are being fuelled by technological advances creating a myriad of new payment rails and customer choices to rival, and complement, traditional payment rails.

Given this trend, treasury departments across all industries may face a significant increase in future operational costs of processing payments. In fact, it was revealed at the recent Association of Financial Professionals 2019 event that increasing the efficiency of both payment processes and achievement of overall operational costs efficiencies are amongst corporate treasurers’ core objectives for 2020 and beyond.

Allied to these objectives, treasury management systems and Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) systems are rapidly evolving to meet these objectives. The increasing number of payment channels now available to corporate treasurers is also increasing the complexity of integration into operational processes. It’s more important than ever for corporates to maintain the quality of payment information held in bank master data records to ensure payments aren’t just faster, but smarter.

With access to more relevant, current and accurate data, organisations can better understand a customer’s unique requirements. This enables the organisation to provide a more tailored payments service that maximises customer experience and adds ‘stickiness’ to client relationships. The reward for achieving this difficult balance is an enduring and profitable business relationship with their customer.

Ongoing Challenges

Corporate treasurers also need to keep abreast of payment market advancements and to understand the applicability to their own organisation’s operations – as well as to the wider organisation.

Following is feedback we have received from customers on some of the challenges keeping them up at night:

  • Certainty of payment – The event of real-time payments, domestic faster payments networks and fintech payment innovations enabled by regulation – such as by PSD2 (Open Banking) – is shortening payment times and has reduced some of the pressure of liquidity availability on the organisation.
  • Overall cost reduction – In addition to certainty of payment, corporates are also benefiting from significantly reduced operational costs as a result of moving from traditional payment rails provided by banks towards significantly cheaper rails available from non-banks, such as fintechs and PSPs.
  • Global payment compliance – For most corporate payment strategies, optimised straight through processing (STP) is still a key corporate goal. Organisations come a step closer to achieving this goal if outgoing payments are tested for compliance to best payment practices, such as validating beneficiary payment instruction data for valid bank routing and regulatory compliance, and pre-screening correspondent and beneficiary banks against global bank sanctions lists.
  • Future proofing technical systems – Recognising that technology will play a big part in future profitability and require ongoing investment in new innovations that improve efficiencies, corporate treasurers must plan and budget adequately.

The Future Challenges of Payment innovation

The backdrop of a rapidly changing payment environment will inevitably require organisations to consistently challenge how payments are offered to their customers to ensure they meet customer demands for a frictionless payments process. At the same time, organisations must minimise the ongoing core operational costs and compliance / liquidity risks of making payments.

Learn more about the Accuity suite of payments solutions for corporate treasury departments.