负面新闻筛查的五种最佳方法


金融机构在面临的所有风险时,最容易忽视的一件事是:识别负面新闻中的“声誉敏感人物(REP)”

不幸的是,由于缺乏针对负面新闻筛查客户的监管指导方针,金融机构在实施风险导向模型时有更大的解释空间。

金融机构如果主动采取措施制定相关政策和程序以确定负面新闻中的高风险实体,就可以更好划分风险等级,减轻管理客户尽职调查程序的运营负担。具体措施包括:定义何时执行负面新闻搜索,如何优化自动化程序,搜索哪些信息,哪些信息属于相关信息,以及如何使用收到的信息。

下文介绍负面新闻筛查的五种最佳方法,旨在提高您的负面新闻筛查方案的效率和有效性。

1.确定筛查时间

全天候监控所有新闻源可能是截获所有负面新闻的最佳方法,但这既不实际,也不可持续。

现实的方法是确定何时搜索负面新闻。例如,在开户时,搜索与新增账户方有关的负面新闻;然后基于政策所述风险标准(即账户类型、管辖区、预期活动等)确定的时间表,重新访问账户。

现实的方法是确定何时搜索负面新闻。例如,在开户时,搜索与新增账户方有关的负面新闻;然后基于政策所述风险标准(即账户类型、管辖区、预期活动等)确定的时间表,重新访问账户。

2.平衡手动审查和自动化审查

即使拥有最有效人工流程的金融机构也无法指派足够人手深入审查所有账户方并始终监控负面新闻。因此,自动化审查流程应补充人工审查流程,成为负面新闻筛查的一个组成部分。

有些系统只能简单地在互联网或新闻源数据库上没有目的地广泛撒网,这可能会产生大量不相关的警报。为了提高筛查效率,金融机构寻找的解决方案必须能够解决核心问题 “客户群中有谁已经通过声誉良好的数据提供商汇总了值得自身注意的所有新闻?”,而不是只能解决“世界上有哪些信息可能与我的客户有关?”这类的次要问题。

每日监测与监视有着显而易见的优点,但完全依靠分析师审查只含少量可行动信息的海量数据却也有着不容忽视的缺点,甚至可能遗漏真正可行动的信息。因此,新闻来源的自动化审查必须在二者之中取得平衡。

3.进行风险分类

制裁警报只有 “风险”或 “无风险”两种结果,但负面新闻的识别无法产生这种非黑即白的结果。由于所有负面新闻调查结果都不一样,因此金融机构需要聘请有资深经验的专业人员来评估真实的风险水平。

依据负面新闻的类别和严重程度进行模型开发,有助于确定审查的优先顺序,并通过常规的KYC程序有效地了解与客户相关的风险水平。

4.兼顾结果的及时性

新闻热度衰退的概念是评估风险时需要考虑的一个有趣因素。随着时间的推移和负面新闻的消失,一些原本因负面新闻调查结果而被认定为具有高风险的银行客户可能会被重新归类为低风险客户。

在某些情况下,仅根据时间确定负面新闻的严重性也是一种有效手段。然而,有些负面新闻的严重性并不受时间因素的影响,例如,关于腐败或其他严重金融犯罪的负面新闻。

5.确保持续的监控

在确定搜索时间、搜索内容以及结果评估方式之后,下一步应决定如何处理相关信息。

针对任何特定账户方进行的一次性负面新闻筛查,充其量只能确定与该账户方历史活动有关的风险。无论调查结果显示负面新闻的严重性是高还是低(即,不足以计入合规方案的风险评估),金融机构都需要持续监测初步调查结果,方便日后更新。

金融机构若拥有一个自动化的独立流程来审查初步筛查结果的更新和更改,将能够更有针对性地利用资源。否则的话,面对着负面新闻筛选平台给出的海量结果,金融机构非常有可能忽略了对结果的更新。

欲知更多详情,可以下载我们的白皮书《负面新闻的影响:负面新闻筛查的五种最佳做法》

Five Best Practices for Adverse Media Screening


Of all the risks faced by financial institutions, identifying Reputationally Exposed Persons (REPs) in adverse media is the one most likely to fall under the radar.

Unfortunately, the lack of regulatory guidance for screening customers against negative news leaves institutions greater room for interpretation when implementing a risk-based model.

Institutions that take proactive measures to develop policies and procedures to identify high-risk entities in adverse media can better prioritise risk and reduce the operational burden on managing customer due diligence processes. That includes defining when to perform adverse media searches, how to optimise automation, what information to search for, what information is relevant, and how to use the information received.

Here are five best practices to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of your adverse media screening program.

1. Clarify Timing

Monitoring every single news source 24/7 might be the most bulletproof way to capture all adverse media, but it is neither practical nor sustainable.

A more realistic approach is to identify when to search for adverse media. For example, search for adverse media against newly added account parties at the time of account opening and then revisit the account based on a schedule guided by policy-designated risk criteria (i.e., account type, jurisdiction, expected activity, etc.).

However, relying on a risk-based schedule alone won’t safeguard an institution if it fails to act upon receipt of actionable knowledge obtained between scheduled reviews. In other words, identify event-triggered media reviews – those activities that may warrant a prioritised, ‘unscheduled’ investigation of news sources as a result of newly discovered account activity, law enforcement inquiries, or higher-risk counterparty relationships.

2. Balance Manual and Automated Reviews

Even institutions with the most effective manual processes cannot dedicate adequate staff to review all account parties in depth and keep up with newly identified media activity. As a result, automated processes should complement manual review as an integral part of adverse media screening.

Systems that simply cast a wide net scraping the internet or news source databases will likely produce an overwhelming volume of non-relevant alerts. For more productive screening, look for a solution that answers the question, ‘Who in the customer base has noteworthy news already compiled on them by a reputable data provider?’ rather than, ‘What information exists in the world that may be related to my customer?’

Therefore, automating the ongoing review of news media sources must balance the obvious benefits of daily monitoring and surveillance while avoiding the pitfalls of overwhelming analysts with a sea of hits containing very few actionable items—or worse, missing those actionable items.

3. Apply Risk Categorisation

The identification of adverse media does not result in a binary, black and white designation of ‘risk’ or ‘no-risk’ as is the case with a sanctions alert. Since all adverse media findings are not the same, they require a greater depth of qualification to assess the true level of risk.

Developing models based on categories and severity of adverse media can help to both prioritise the reviews and more effectively understand the appropriate level of risk associated with a client as part of the general KYC profile.

4. Consider the Timeliness of Findings

The concept of news decay is an interesting consideration in assessing risk. Some bank customers whose adverse media findings might have qualified them as higher risk could be reclassified as lower risk with both the passing of time and the absence of subsequent adverse media.

Determining the materiality of adverse media based solely on age can be effective in some instances. However, there are certain types of severity related to adverse media for which time is not a factor, such as negative news surrounding corruption or other serious financial crimes.

5. Ensure Ongoing Monitoring and Surveillance

After determining when to search, what to search and how to evaluate results, the next step is deciding what to do with the information.

A one-and-done screening of any given account party will at best identify risk related to historic activity. Whether findings are material or immaterial (i.e. not severe enough to align with a programme’s calculation of risk), monitoring of those initial findings for future updates is required.

Having a separate, automated process to review updates and changes to already known findings will make more targeted use of resources. Otherwise, there is greater potential for losing sight of updates within the overall results of a volume-heavy general adverse media screening platform.

Download our white paper Negative News Impact: Five Best Practices for Adverse Media Screening to learn more.