追求卓越的制裁合规:有效性的作用


有效性、效率和可解释性(简称“3E”)相互依存,是制定健全制裁合规计划的基础原则。本系列制裁合规博客文章的第一部分将着重介绍有效性在制裁合规中的作用。

什么是有效的合规?

有效性是评估制裁合规筛查程序的主要监管目标和底线,代表着筛查方案能够成功检测与受制裁实体打交道的风险水平。

制裁合规筛查方案涉及到人员、程序以及技术。制裁合规筛查方案只要实施调整得当,就可确保组织的运作符合管辖区的监管要求。

例如,美国财政部外国资产控制办公室(OFAC)于2019年5月发布的指导性文件概述了各个组织想要确保有效合规就必须满足的技术能力、组织架构和人力资本等要求。

这份指导性文件可以帮助各个组织厘清监管机构关于制裁合规的各项要求,但也因为固化各项要求而给有效合规提出了新的难题。

各个组织现在必须证明其已经实施了一套全面的制裁合规方案。如果监管机构认定一个组织的制裁合规方案不能有效覆盖该组织的所有制裁风险敞口,那么无论该组织是否真地违反制裁,监管机构都可能决定对该组织采取法律措施。

监管与运营挑战

任何人如果对制裁合规的重要性还有任何疑问,那么可以看看OFAC 在2019年开出的惊人罚款金额(截至2019年10月7日,OFAC罚款金额将近13亿美元,创下历史新高)。如此高额罚款清楚地提醒我们,OFAC非常重视制裁合规性。.

尽管任何组织一旦违反制裁就会面临巨额罚款并可能遭受声誉损害,但OFAC罚款金额在过去几年的大幅上升清楚表明:各个组织很难实现有效的制裁合规。

对各个组织而言,管理国际制裁条例并弥合交易监测过滤方案中的合规差距显然是一项持续的挑战,面临着许多监管和运营障碍。

在监管方面,下列四种趋势导致各个组织更加难以实现有效的制裁合规:

  • 特别指定实体的数量稳步增加——美国为了扩大外交政策目标,已经决定恢复对伊朗的制裁,这导致《特别指定国民名单》上的人数创下历史新高
  • 制裁方案日益复杂——贸易制裁、行业制裁和针对性制裁(如资产冻结和出行禁令)的使用频率越来越高。对于各个组织而言,这些制裁比整个地区的禁运更难确定和实施。
  • 规避制裁技术更为复杂——受影响的国家和个人正在寻找创新方法来规避制裁,例如:使用虚拟货币、利用复杂的贸易联系,参与非法海运等。
  • 监管审查更为深入——例如,纽约州金融服务部(DFS)第504部法规对筛查控制措施的设计和实施提出了具体要求以确保建立健全的筛查控制体系。这体现了监管机构对各个机构内部制裁过滤方案要求日益严格的趋势

监管挑战主要受到外部政治因素的影响,但运营挑战反映的是金融机构和其他组织在设计和实施制裁合规框架时面临的内部问题。例如,由于合并、收购和各个部门的不同需求,各个独立系统可能会阻碍信息的流动,而想要确保制裁合规,信息的流动必不可少。

还有一个运营挑战(特别是对全球组织而言)在于如何确保外国子公司与总部一样遵守组织的内部政策。组织内部应建立一种自上而下、跨越地区的强大而一致的合规文化,这将有助于防止违反制裁。然而,即使一家公司切实进行了尽职调查并采取了正确的预防措施,也无法保证一定能够确保其子公司能够实现制裁合规。

举例来说,总部位于弗吉尼亚州的科尔摩根公司(Kollmorgen Corporation)就不得不在2019年2月就土耳其附属公司Elsim Elektroteknik Sistemler Sanayi ve Ticaret Anonim Sirketi违反伊朗制裁法规而承担的潜在民事责任与美国当局达成和解。虽然科尔摩根公司在收购关联公司的前后都采取了适当的措施,确保该关联公司符合美国政府的制裁要求,但事实证明该关联公司在被收购后仍继续向伊朗提供货物和服务。

实现有效合规的技术解决方案

为了应对制裁合规所面临的监管与运营挑战,各个组织必须依托能够准确发现制裁风险敞口的技术解决方案,切实执行制裁筛查计划。

采用人工智能(AI)技术的解决方案能够实现先进的高精度风险筛查,从而提供可数量管理的风险警报。因此,AI解决方案提供了一个非常有效的制裁筛查途径,从而帮助各个组织更好地管理制裁风险敞口。

有效合规还涉及到实施前后的端到端测试,具体参见纽约州金融服务部(DFS)第504部法规的有关内容。不同阶段进行的测试对于降低运营和监管风险而言至关重要。差距分析和健康检查是评估筛查过滤软件有效性最常用的两种测试方法。

合规测试流程实施持续治理和内部控制是确保整个组织实现有效制裁合规审查的最后一步。

总体方案设计必须通过反映机构风险敞口的政策和程序加以记录。相关文件必须妥善保存,以便继续记录真实的运营情况。

最后,各个机构需要妥善记录其控制措施(筛查结果、测试报告等),才能证明其正在有效执行制裁合规方案,也才能解释其通过何种方式减轻制裁风险。

欲知更多详情,可以参加我们的网络研讨会或下载我们的白皮书《追求卓越的制裁筛查:有效性、效率和可解释性的作用》

Excellence in Sanctions Compliance: The Role of Effectiveness


Effectiveness, efficiency and explainability – “the three E’s” – are the interdependent foundational girders for building a sound sanctions compliance program. In the first of this three-part blog series, we’ll look at the role of effectiveness in sanctions compliance.

What is Effective Compliance?

Effectiveness is the main regulatory objective and the bottom line for assessing any sanctions compliance process. It describes the ability of a screening programme to successfully detect any risk of dealing with a sanctioned entity.

Sanctions compliance programmes involve a combination of people, processes and technology. When properly implemented and tuned, the screening programme provides assurance that the organisation is operating within the regulatory requirements of the governing jurisdictions.

For example, detailed guidance issued in May 2019 from the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) outlines the technical, organisational and human-capital requirements that organisations are expected to implement to ensure effective compliance.

Although this type of guidance is welcomed to help clarify regulatory expectations for sanctions compliance, it also presents a new aspect to the challenge of effective compliance by setting expectations in stone.

Organisations must now demonstrate that they have implemented a comprehensive sanctions compliance programme. If regulators assess a sanctions programme as not effectively covering the organisation’s sanctions risk exposure, they may decide to engage in enforcement actions regardless of actual sanctions violations.

Regulatory and Operational Challenges

If there was any doubt about how critical it is to toe the line on sanctions compliance, the staggering fines issued in 2019 (a record of nearly $1.3 billion as of October 7, 2019) are a stark reminder that OFAC takes sanctions compliance very seriously.

Despite huge fines and the potential reputational damage from violating sanctions, the uptick in OFAC settlements over the last few years is indicative of just how difficult it is for organisations to achieve effective compliance.

Managing international sanctions regulations and closing compliance gaps in transaction monitoring and filtering programmes is clearly an ongoing challenge, with many regulatory and operational obstacles.

On the regulatory side, achieving effective sanctions compliance is made more difficult by the following four trends:

  • A steady increase in the number of designated entities – Broadening foreign policy objectives and the US decision to snap back sanctions against Iran has led to a record increase in the Specially Designated Nationals (SDN) List.
  • Growing complexity of sanctions programmes – Trade sanctions, sectoral sanctions and targeted sanctions, such as asset and travel freezes, are being used with greater frequency. These sanctions are more difficult for institutions to identify and implement than embargos, which block an entire geography.
  • More sophisticated sanction-evading techniques – Impacted countries and individuals are finding creative ways to skirt sanctions using virtual currencies, complex trade links, and engaging in illicit shipping.
  • Deeper regulatory scrutiny – New York State Department of Financial Services (DFS) Part 504, which includes requirements for designing and implementing measures to ensure screening controls are sound, is a prime example of the trend towards increasingly stringent requirements on institutions’ internal sanctions filtering programmes.

Unlike regulatory challenges, which are greatly impacted by external political factors, operational challenges reflect the internal issues financial institutions and other organisations face when designing and implementing their sanctions compliance frameworks. For example, disparate systems as a result of mergers, acquisitions, and differing departmental needs can hinder the flow of information required to ensure sanctions compliance.

Another operational challenge, particularly for global organisations, is ensuring that foreign subsidiaries subscribe to the same level of compliance with internal policies as the home office. A strong and consistent culture of compliance from the top down and across geographies can be instrumental in preventing sanctions violations. However, even when a company does its due diligence and takes the right precautions, there are no guarantees.

Case in point is Virginia-based Kollmorgen Corporation, which settled a potential civil liability in February 2019 for violations of Iran sanctions from its Turkish affiliate, Elsim Elektroteknik Sistemler Sanayi ve Ticaret Anonim Sirketi (“Elsim”). Although Kollmorgen had taken proper steps prior to and after the acquisition of Elsim to make sure the affiliate complied with US sanctions requirements, Elsim continued to provide goods and services to Iran while attesting to the contrary.

Technology Solutions for Effective Compliance

To tackle both the regulatory and operational challenges of sanctions compliance, organisations need to implement sanctions screening programmes backed by technology solutions that can accurately detect sanctions risk exposure.

In particular, solutions that leverage artificial intelligence (AI) offer advanced precision in detection to deliver a manageable number of relevant alerts. As a result, they provide a highly effective process for sanctions screening and allow for better management of sanctions risk exposure.

Another aspect of effective compliance involves end-to-end testing both pre- and post-implementation, as outlined in DFS Part 504. Testing at various stages is critical for mitigating both operational and regulatory risks. Gap analysis and health checks are the two most common types of tests to assess filter effectiveness.

Ongoing governance and internal control of the compliance testing process provide the final layer to ensure effective sanctions compliance screening across an organisation.

The overall programme design must be documented through policies and procedures that reflect the institution’s risk exposure. This documentation must be maintained in order to continue to capture the operational reality.

Finally, the institution is expected to keep records of its controls (screening results, testing reports) in order to be able to demonstrate that the programme is performing effectively and explain how it is mitigating sanctions risks.

Join our webinar or download our white paper, Excellence in Sanctions Screening: The Role of Effectiveness, Efficiency and Explainability to learn more.