追求卓越的制裁合规:效率——机会就在眼前


我们的制裁合规系列博客文章的第二部分基于我们的白皮书《追求卓越的制裁合规:有效性、效率和可解释性的作用》,重点介绍各个组织如何才能提高合规效率。

高效的合规

在“追求卓越的制裁合规”系列的第一篇博客文章中,我们详细介绍了实现高效合规必须满足的众多监管要求。这些监管要求如不进行优化,就可能会给金融机构造成沉重的成本。

效率就是在优化结果并确保有效性的同时进行正确的资源分配。

我们与分析公司(Chartis Research)的最新研究结果显示,三分之一的受访者认为:运营限制和资源限制是影响制裁筛查效率的首要因素。制裁筛查效率的提高途径包括:简化运营流程,减少冗员;优化模型,尽量减少误报;自动化完成任务,如更新制裁名单等。
制裁筛查效率对于提高有效性、削减成本、降低罚款和声誉损害风险而言至关重要。例如,2018年底,海湾地区的一家银行接到了纽约州金融服务部(DFS)下达的合意处分令(consent order),部分原因在于它没有及时根据警报提交《可疑活动报告(SARs)》。这家银行每月会收到超过1500个警报,但由于缺乏有效的软件和流程,它很晚才提交《可疑活动报告》。

制裁筛查效率对于提高有效性、削减成本、降低罚款和声誉损害风险而言至关重要。例如,2018年底,海湾地区的一家银行接到了纽约州金融服务部(DFS)下达的合意处分令(consent order),部分原因在于它没有及时根据警报提交《可疑活动报告(SARs)》。这家银行每月会收到超过1500个警报,但由于缺乏有效的软件和流程,它很晚才提交《可疑活动报告》。

令人震惊的高额罚款(截至2019年10月,仅OFAC开出的罚款金额就高达13亿美元)正在清楚地提醒我们:制裁合规失误会导致重大风险。各个组织可以减少容易出错的手动流程,提高制裁筛查效率,从而大幅降低运营风险。

轻易实现的目标

各个组织可以采用人工智能(AI)技术,在确保不漏报的同时减少误报,从而提高制裁筛查过滤效率。误报率如果可以降到个位数,需要评估的警报数量将显著减少,制裁筛查效率就能大幅提升。

现有的人工智能技术有许多种,但制裁筛查程序中最常用的是机器学习技术。机器学习算法会将大量数据标记为“真阳”、“假阳”、“真阴”和“假阴”。

如此一来,机器学习算法就通过数据将属性连接到结果。当新的数据输入到筛查系统时,机器学习算法将根据训练数据(此类数据的结果已知)评估输入的数据,然而产生输出结果。输出的结果可能是“无警报”,也可能是带有分数和描述性元素的警报。

如果模型的输入数据不好,输出结果也不会好。组织务必经常更新并分析引用的制裁清单,以便筛查系统在不创建低质警报的情况下有效地匹配最新的制裁清单。

组织在过滤过程中应用人工智能技术,旨在减少需要人工审查的误报数量。减少误报的好处包括:

  • 被警告的交易数量下降(=客户体验得到改善);
  • 警报审查的人员需求减少;
  • 决策失误的风险降低;
  • 调查的严格程度可能提高。

一旦过滤软件投入使用,筛查系统就会输出大量潜在的匹配结果。这些“匹配结果”通常将由分析师进行审查和判定。通过在这一过程中结合运用人类智慧和人工智能,各个组织很有可能可以提高制裁筛查效率。

数据的重要性

制裁数据不断变化,各个组织必须及时更新相关数据。

高效的运营流程可以完善用于分析的数据,提高警报的审查速度以及模型的维护更新速度,从而确保制裁筛查方案的有效性。

有了完善的数据,分析人员可以花更少的时间从不同的系统收集信息,并且在记录警报决策时更少出错。完善的数据可以包括:交易信息、身份信息(如出生日期和护照信息)、详细的原因代码和匹配描述。完善的数据还可以用于全面的审计跟踪。

所有相关信息一旦完成整合,分析师可以更快地查看、记录和作出警报决策。这提高了分析师的工作效率,也降低了分析工作的人员需求。不过,这不一定等同于减少人员编制,但却可以重新分配资源以优化效率。

保持模型健康

模型如果没有经过评估和及时更新,就可能会随着时间的推移而发生偏移,并开始产生误报。这会降低模型的效率,导致误报率升高,合规团队需要更多的时间来审查海量警报。在可能的情况下,模型维护应实现自动化,并配合可操作的智能技术来微调系统。

定期的模型测试,以及实施前后的任何更改,都有助于确保模型正常工作。定期的模型测试还可以确保组织符合纽约州金融服务部第504部法规的有关规定。组织如果能够快速向审计机构和监管机构提供模型测试和验证文档,就能够提高监管审查程序的效率。模型的定期测试还可以通过提高系统效率和减少误报,帮助组织找到改进筛查程序的机会。

如果组织拥有执行定期模型测试和验证的流程和程序,那么这就意味着组织可以更有针对性、更快地在日常工作中维持模型的监控。

我们知道有很多方法可以提高制裁合规方案的效率。有些方法的效果显而易见,比如减少误报。还有一些方法的效果则不太明显,比如在模型测试过程中提高效率。

欲知更多详情,可以下载我们的白皮书《追求卓越的制裁筛查:有效性、效率和可解释性的作用》

Excellence in Sanctions Compliance: Efficiency – Opportunity is Knocking


The second installment of our sanctions compliance blog series looks at ways organisations can achieve greater efficiency based on our whitepaper, Excellence in Sanctions Compliance: The Role of Effectiveness, Efficiency and Explainability.

Efficient Compliance

The first blog in our “Excellence in Sanctions Compliance” series detailed the many regulatory requirements that must be met to achieve effective compliance. If not managed optimally, those requirements can translate into heavy costs for financial institutions.

Efficiency, on the other hand, is all about allocating the right resources, while optimising results and maintaining effectiveness.

According to recent research we conducted with analyst firm Chartis Research, a third of respondents identified operational and resource constraints as the number one factor influencing their approach to sanctions screening. Efficiency can be improved by streamlining operational processes to reduce the headcount required, tuning models to minimise false positives, and automating tasks like list updates.

Efficiency is critical in supporting effectiveness, reducing costs, and mitigating the risk of fines and reputational damage. For example, in late 2018, a Gulf region bank was placed under a consent order by New York State Department of Financial Services (DFS), in part because it could not keep up with alerts and Suspicious Activity Reports (SARs) that needed to be filed. The bank was receiving over 1,500 alerts per month and, due to lack of efficient software and processes, it was filing SARs very late.

The staggering cost of fines – $1.3 billion as of October 2019 from OFAC alone – are a strong reminder that sanctions compliance lapses pose a significant risk. Efficiency improvements can play a major role in reducing operational risk by limiting the need for manual processes that are inherently error prone.

Low Hanging Fruit

Improving the efficiency of an organisation’s screening filter can be accomplished by leveraging artificial intelligence (AI) techniques to reduce false positives, while ensuring no true positives go under the radar. This is a big efficiency win if the hit rate can be reduced to single digits, dramatically reducing the number of alerts that need to be assessed.

There are many different types of AI, but the type most commonly used in sanctions screening is machine learning. With machine learning, large amounts of data are made available to an algorithm tagged to designate true positives, false positives, true negatives and false negatives.

The algorithm uses this data to connect attributes to outcomes. When new data is fed into the system, the algorithm assesses the data based on the training data (with known outcomes) and produces an output, which could be no alert, or an alert with a score and some descriptive elements.

If the inputs to the model are not good, the outputs will not be good either. It is important that the watchlists being referenced are frequently updated and parsed so they can be matched effectively without creating low-quality alerts.

The goal when applying AI to the filtering process is to reduce the number of false positives requiring manual review. This has several operational merits:

  • Fewer alerted transactions = better customer experience
  • Reduction in the headcount required to review alerts
  • Reduced risk of error in decisions
  • Potential for more rigorous investigation

Once the filter has been applied, the output is a number of potential matches. These “hits” need to be reviewed and decisions made, generally by a human analyst. By augmenting human and artificial intelligence in this process, there are significant opportunities to achieve far greater efficiency.

The Importance of Data

Sanctions data changes constantly and organisations need to ensure they keep up.

Efficient operational processes support the effectiveness of the sanctions screening programme by improving the data available to analysts, increasing the speed at which alerts can be reviewed, and increasing how quickly models can be maintained and updated.

With better data, analysts can spend less time gathering information from different systems and there is a smaller margin for error when documenting decisions on alerts. Better data could include transaction information, identity elements (such as date of birth and passport information), and detailed reason codes and match descriptions. Better data also provides for full-featured audit trails.

Pulling together all the relevant information allows analysts to review, document, and make decisions on alerts faster. This increases the overall throughput of analysts and means fewer are needed to manage the volume. This does not necessarily equate to a reduction in headcount, but allows for resources to be reallocated to optimise effectiveness.

Maintaining Model Health

If models aren’t assessed and kept up to date, they may drift over time and begin to produce false positives. This makes them less effective and can increase the alert rate, requiring more time from the compliance team to review them. To the extent possible, model maintenance should be automated and provide actionable intelligence to fine tune the system.

Regular testing of the model and any changes before and after implementation can help to ensure models stay on track. Regular testing also supports compliance with New York State’s Department of Financial Services Part 504 regulation. Being able to quickly provide model test and validation documentation to auditors and regulators increases the efficiency of the examination process. Testing can help identify new opportunities to refine the screening process, by finding greater efficiencies in the system and reducing false positives.

Having processes and procedures to perform regular model testing and validation means performing these tasks can be targeted, less time consuming and a regular part of maintaining model health.

There are many ways to improve efficiency in a sanctions compliance programme. Some, like reducing false positives are fairly clear. Others, such as finding efficiencies in the model testing process, are somewhat less obvious.

Join our webinar  or download our white paper, Excellence in Sanctions Screening: The Role of Effectiveness, Efficiency and Explainability to learn more.