预防经济犯罪:超出合规标准


洗钱、恐怖融资和金融犯罪问题日益严重——联合国毒品和犯罪问题办公室称,每年洗钱金额占全球GDP的2%至5%(介于7150亿欧元至1.87万亿欧元之间)。

2月,伦敦金融区中心举办了一场“英国财政经济犯罪大会”,会议主题就是此类非法金融活动。大会与会人员包括银行、金融科技公司和政府机构的代表,他们讨论了打击经济犯罪的战略,包括制裁合规性、反洗钱和预防欺诈。

大会传达的关键信息是:银行和企业必须确保其制定的金融犯罪合规性举措尽可能有效

近年来,为了应对日益上升的金融犯罪风险,反洗钱(AML)监管要求变得越来越严格。然而,须履行的义务越多,各组织就越有可能为了合规而合规——为了合规而完成监管者的要求,然后逐项核查。

不过,各组织务必要考虑怎样才是真正的“有效”,即,“怎样才能成功产生预期的结果”。例如,执行金融犯罪筛查的预期结果是“合规”,还是检测和预防金融犯罪,最大程度地减少社会危害?

金融犯罪筛查的最终目标当然是最大程度地减少社会危害。合规性要求只是确保各组织达到满足这一目标的最低标准而已,但要真正有效实现这一目标,各组织要做的比监管机构所要求的多得多。

我们应该问问自己:“我的筛查计划是否已尽可能完善?我是否在优化所有可用的技术?我们是否已经竭尽所能地打击日益猖獗的洗钱、恐怖融资和金融犯罪等威胁?”

只要好好想想“能做什么”,怎样才能超越“应该做的”,我们势必能赢得这场“战斗”的胜利。

进一步了解金融犯罪合规性方面的行业基准,以及人工智能技术如何有助于打击金融犯罪。

Economic Crime Prevention: Going Above and Beyond Compliance


Money laundering, terrorism financing, and financial crime are growing problems – the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime believes that between 2% and 5% of global GDP is laundered every year (that’s between €715 billion and €1.87 trillion).

Preventing such illicit financial activity was the focus of the recent UK Finance Economic Crime Congress, which took place in the heart of London’s financial district in February. Delegates from banks, fintechs, and government bodies convened to discuss strategies for combatting economic crime, including sanctions compliance, anti-money laundering and fraud prevention.

A key message from the event was that banks and businesses must ensure the financial crime compliance initiatives they put in place are as effective as possible.

Anti-money laundering (AML) regulatory requirements have increased in recent years to meet growing financial crime risks; but with increasing obligations, there is a danger that organisations could approach the regulations purely from a compliance perspective – doing what the regulators require them to do in order to be compliant. Ticking a box.

However, it is important to consider what is really meant by ‘effective’; that is, to be “successful in producing a desired or intended result”. In financial crime screening, is the desired result ‘compliance’ or is it to detect and prevent financial crime to minimise social harm?

The end goal of financial crime screening is of course to minimise social harm. Compliance requirements exist to ensure the minimum standards are met in meeting this objective, but true effectiveness means going above and beyond the regulatory requirements.

We should ask ourselves: ‘Is my screening as good as it can be? Am I optimising all technology available to me? Are we doing everything we can to combat the growing threat of money laundering, terrorism financing and economic crime?

By thinking about what we can do, over and above what we should, it’s a fight we can win together.

Learn more about current industry benchmarks in financial crime compliance and how artificial intelligence techniques are helping in the fight against financial crime.