代理银行业务:在高风险地区开展低风险业务


一个健康安全的代理银行业务网络对每个人都有好处,而这个网络可以靠技术实现。

——Ankit Sharma与Saurabh Nagar

代理银行业务关系不仅对银行业,而且对整个经济体都至关重要。这个庞大的银行关系网络可以落实金融包容性,让民众和企业能够办理一些他们可能难以获得的银行服务,而且可以使国家与国家之间的贸易合作简单化。

代理银行业务就像一个为经济发展提供所需养分的循环系统,但有时也非常脆弱容易受到攻击。银行为使自身及其客户免遭金融犯罪的侵害而做出了巨大努力,但当它们与另一家银行建立新业务关系或没有对现有合作银行进行持续监控时,它们便无法全面、实时地了解自身的风险敞口,对方银行的风险也会变成它们的风险。

去风险化与再风险化

交易的链条可能非常长,而且通常很复杂,涉及不止一个地区的银行与客户。如果不直接与业务关联方建立业务关系,银行很容易遭遇风险。

2020年5月,美国司法部公布了一份起诉书,指控28名朝鲜公民和5名中国公民利用250多家前台公司掩盖25亿美元资金的非法转移。朝鲜国有外贸银行(Foreign Trade Bank)被列入美国财政部特别指定国民名单后,相关方故意通过代理银行进行交易,以规避制裁。

世界各地的监管机构为打击国际金融体系中的洗钱和恐怖主义融资行为采取了越来越多的行动,美国的起诉措施只是其中的一项。同时,各银行也加强了合规措施,但合规成本的上升以及代理银行业务关系导致的风险增加促使许多银行采取“去风险化”措施,将业务撤出高风险的地区。

国际清算银行组织(BIS)的资料显示,2011年至2018年期间,全球范围内的代理银行业务关系数量减少了五分之一。某些地区受到的打击比较严重,通常是那些承受能力最弱的地区,因为银行撤出业务的地区对象主要是对金融犯罪管控不力且经济增长比较不强劲的国家(例如,委内瑞拉境内的代理银行数量减少了60%以上)。

这一趋势在亚洲各地也有明显的体现。2011年至2018年,新加坡的代理银行业务关系减少了10%,菲律宾减少了20%以上。

反洗钱金融行动特别工作组(FATF)对“去风险化”的描述是:金融机构按照FATF风险为本的方法终止或约束与整个国家或整类客户的业务关系,以避免风险,而不是管理风险。

扭转这一趋势符合所有人的利益——因此,金融机构应采用风险为本的方法重新建立起代理行业务关系,而非采用“一刀切”的方式。技术可以促进银行业务的透明发展,而一个强大可靠的代理银行业务网络需要建立在各金融机构清楚了解每一位最终客户的基础之上。

在这个迅速变化的监管环境中,“了解你的客户”(KYC)与反洗钱(AML)专业人员需要了解可能对金融犯罪筛查过程构成威胁的盲点,例如:

  • 不断变化的风险画像
  • 不断增加的法规要求
  • 复杂的所有权结构

 
降低代理行业务中的反洗钱(AML)/打击资助恐怖主义(CFT)相关风险

一些基本风险因素包括:嵌套账户、空壳银行、客户的下游客户、制裁、地域风险、数据收集局限等。

建立代理关系的银行需要确保,交易链中的所有来往银行和代理银行已确立有效的管控措施,且制定健全的KYC程序、反洗钱程序和其他尽职调查程序。

尽职调查最佳实践主要回答以下三个问题:

  • 客户是谁?
  • 我能否与他们交易?
  • 我应该与他们交易吗?

 
对代理行进行具体的强化尽职调查(EDD)是关键所在,但如果以人工方式进行,则回答上述问题可能十分耗时。对于KYC、反洗钱、汇款和制裁筛查的自动化方案可以确保根据银行的风险状况实施强化尽职调查工作。

一系列代理行解决方案可以让银行快速检查银行身份、确定银行的最终受益人、筛查出政治人物和负面新闻(如有必要)、以高效进行其他强化尽职调查,而不让遵纪守法的客户感到不便。这就是79%的企业将“了解你的客户”等程序的自动化视为首要任务的原因。

务必谨记一点,打击金融犯罪是就像是一场“猫捉老鼠”的持久战。在银行努力填补任何漏洞的同时,犯罪分子也在不断寻找和发现能够利用国际规则和银行系统进行犯罪的机会。这是一场持久战,而当前的金融犯罪打击措施势必不足以应对日后的犯罪活动。

金融机构必须不断检查内部程序,定期培训员工,优化反金融犯罪和代理行风险管理的技术方案。

通过创建一个让用户信任、感到可靠的代理银行业务网络,我们就能在打击金融犯罪的斗争中取得胜利,为世界创建一个更加包容的金融环境。这是一场值得胜利的斗争。

如需了解更多信息,请下载我司白皮书——《如何避免KYC程序盲点》,或了解更多我司提供的关于“了解你的客户”“金融犯罪筛查解决方案”的产品组合。

A healthy and safe correspondent banking network benefits everyone – and technology has brought it within our reach.

-Ankit Sharma & Saurabh Nagar

Correspondent banking relationships are vital to not only the banking sector, but to economies as a whole. This vast network of bank relationships breeds financial inclusion, providing populations and businesses with access to banking services that they might otherwise struggle to find, and eases trading party relationships between nations.

Correspondent banking is the circulatory system that delivers the nutrients that economies need to thrive, but it is also vulnerable to attack. Banks make an extensive effort to protect themselves and their customers from financial crime – but when they initiate a new relationship with another bank, or do not constantly monitor their existing relationships, institutions do not have a complete and real-time picture into their risk exposures, and the counterparty bank’s risk becomes their own.

De-risking vs Re-risking

Transaction chains can be long and are inevitably complex, involving respondent and correspondent banks and customers across more than one jurisdiction. In the absence of a direct relationship with underlying parties, it is alarmingly easy for banks to be caught out.

In May 2020, the US Department of Justice unsealed an indictment against 28 North Korean and five Chinese bankers who are accused of using more than 250 front companies to obscure $2.5 billion in illicit financial transfers. The transactions were deliberately routed through correspondent banks in order to circumvent sanctions after North Korea’s state-owned Foreign Trade Bank (FTB) was placed on the US Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons list.

This was the latest in a growing list of actions taken by regulators around the world to combat money laundering and terrorism financing in the international banking network. Banks have simultaneously stepped up their compliance measures but the rising cost of compliance and the growing risks associated with correspondent banking relationships has prompted many to “derisk,” and pull out of jurisdictions that are considered to be vulnerable.

Worldwide, the number of correspondent banking relationships fell by a fifth between 2011 and 2018, according to data from BIS. Some regions have been hit harder than others – often those that can afford it the least – as banks have withdrawn predominantly from countries where governance and controls around financial crime were considered to be poor and where economic growth is less robust (the number of correspondent banks in Venezuela, for example, has dropped by more than 60%).

The trend has also been seen clearly across Asia, with Singapore seeing a 10% decrease in correspondent banking relationships between 2011 and 2018, and The Philippines falling more than 20%.

The FATF defines De-Risking as situations where financial institutions terminate or restrict business relationships with entire countries or classes of customers in order to avoid, rather than manage, risks in line with the FATF’s risk-based approach (RBA).

Reversing this trend is in everyone’s interest – with this in mind, institutions should “re-risk” their counterparty relationships, with an RBA framework, rather than blanket re-risking and technology is an enabler providing transparency and a strong and confident correspondent banking network is one where every institution has clear sight of the end customer.

Within this fast-moving regulatory environment, Know Your Customer (KYC) and anti-money laundering (AML) professionals need to be aware of the blind spots that could jeopardise the financial crime screening process, such as:

Reducing AML / CFT risks in counterparty relationships

Some of the basic risk factors include – Nested Accounts, Shell Banks, Customers of Customers, Sanctions, Geographical risks, Limited data sets, among others.

Banks entering into correspondent relationships need to be confident that all correspondent and respondent banks in the chain have the right controls and governance in place, and that their KYC, AML and other due diligence procedures are robust.

Best practice due diligence answers three questions:

Conducting specific enhanced due diligence (EDD) on relationships is the key, but answering these questions is enormously time-consuming if done manually. Automated KYC, AML, payments and sanctions screening provides confidence that enhanced due diligence has been carried out in line with the bank’s risk profile.

The array of counterparty solutions allows banks to rapidly examine the identity of customers, establish Ultimate Beneficial Owners of entities, screen for Politically Exposed Persons (PEPs) and negative news if required, and carry out other enhanced due diligence checks cost effectively, without inconveniencing legitimate customers. This is why 79% of firms see automation of processes such as KYC as their priority.

It is vital to remember that fighting financial crime is an ongoing game of cat and mouse. Criminals are constantly looking for – and finding – new opportunities to exploit international rules and banking systems, while banks work tirelessly to plug any gaps. This is an ongoing fight and today’s anti-financial crime measures will not be sufficient tomorrow.

It is crucial for institutions to constantly review their procedures, provide regular training to their team, and optimize the technology used in their fight against financial crime and counterparty risk management.

By creating a correspondent banking network that instils confidence and reliability in those that use it, we can win the fight against financial crime and create greater financial inclusion across the world. A fight worth winning.

For more information, download our Avoiding the KYC Blind Spots white paper, or learn more about our suite of Know Your Customer and financial crime screening solutions.

Need Help ?