咨询专家:对话制裁专家 Saskia Rietbroek


在“咨询专家”系列的第一部分中,我们就2019年制裁形势的复杂性咨询了认证制裁专家协会(ACSS)执行主任萨斯基亚·里特布鲁克(Saskia Rietbroek)

制裁行动增加的背后推动力是什么?

制裁是各国政府为实现某些外交政策目标和为世界树立榜样而采用的必要手段。制裁可以帮助各国政府促进人权尊重,保障民主体制,保护金融体系不受非法资金流动的影响。

随着全球化程度越来越高,各国的联系和金融互动变得更加重要。制裁行动给腐败官员、罪犯和恐怖分子传递了一条重要信息:如果继续藐视国际法,就会产生严重后果,例如断绝与美国和欧盟金融体系的联系。

哪些国家或国家集团在实施制裁方面最为活跃?

联合国安理会在实施制裁方面非常积极,但在执行方面却是纸老虎,无法对违规行为进行处罚。联合国安理会的制度执行需要在国家层面才能完成。

美国和欧盟在实施制裁方面也非常积极,而且美国在执行制裁方面尤其积极。美国通过总统签署行政命令的方式宣布对外制裁。不同于许多欧洲领导人,美国总统只要大笔一挥就能直接影响外交政策。

您认为制裁能够奏效吗?

是的。在我们不能打交道的受制裁人士中,有一些犯罪分子,如大规模杀伤性武器(WMD)扩散者和贩毒者。我们必须记住,这些人犯罪有且只有一个动机:金钱。准确地说,应该是数量惊人的金钱。这些钱如果存在储藏室或手提箱里不会带来任何好处,因此,罪犯必然想要把钱转移并花掉。不过,由于制裁行动的实施,他们的目的很难实现。他们的名字会被银行标记,他们的资金也会被冻结。此外,他们还将面临漫长的监禁。

有没有可能完全掌握金融服务业的制裁趋势?

这很不容易。制裁形势一夜之间可能就会发生改变。我们很难追上。许多案例都显示各大金融机构的方案中总有一些缺陷。合规官员告诉我们,“这就像逆流而上,我们很难跟上制裁形势的变化步伐。”这正是我们成立认证制裁专家协会 的一个原因。我们想要为各个组织提供实现制裁合规所需的支持、资源和规范。

现行制裁制度存在哪些主要漏洞?

海外公司成为规避制裁的利器。这一点充分反映在最近的萨德尔(有时被称为“伊朗的比尔·盖茨”)案件。去年,他在纽约南区被控违反制裁并实施其他违法行为。据称,他采用故意隐瞒的方式,通过美国金融系统向伊朗各方汇款。起诉书声称,萨德尔先在阿联酋、英属维尔京群岛和土耳其设立若干挂名公司,随后通过这些公司在瑞士和美国开设银行账户,并成功完成了15笔汇款,涉案金额高达1.15亿美元。

我认为,单边制裁的有效性不如多边制裁。如果只有一个国家对一个团体实施制裁,那么这个团体的资金就会流向其他国家。受制裁方的资金就像流水,都会选择阻力较小的道路进行流通。

金融服务公司怎样才能堵住漏洞?

由于执法机关最近发布的指导意见(如OFAC的50%原则),金融机构的制裁合规筛查已经从单纯的名字筛查发展到更为复杂的客户尽职调查(CDD)。根据执法机关的指导意见,如果一家公司不在黑名单上,但其所有人却是特别指定实体,那么这家公司也应视为特别指定实体。金融机构必须实施客户尽职调查,从而确定交易客户的真正所有人。这不是一件容易的事情。有时候,这就像剥洋葱皮——受制裁人员往往躲藏得十分隐秘。

在当今这个技术高速发展的世界里,制裁合规应当如何与时俱进?

我们现在看到,特别指定人士(资产被冻结的人士)可以使用虚拟货币来规避制裁。在某些情况下,一旦涉及加密货币,银行或信用卡公司可能更难以发现交易中存在的特别指定人士和受制裁活动。古巴或伊朗等国的公民如果被禁止获得全球通用的信用卡或借记卡,就可以改用加密货币在网上购物或进行其他商业交易。加密货币是一种能够进行交易的货币,否则它根本就不会存在。

不过,受制裁人士首先需要获得加密货币。大多数交易都要通过中央交易所的制裁筛查,因此受制裁人士很难获得加密货币。

认证制裁专家协会(ACSS)执行主任萨斯基亚·里特布鲁克(Saskia Rietbroek)简介:

萨斯基亚(Saskia)是金融犯罪领域的行业领导者,曾在美国、拉丁美洲和欧洲等地区担任相关工作,拥有超过15年的专业经验。凭借丰富的工作经验,她能够为国际培训和金融犯罪合规项目提供宝贵的专业知识和意见。此前,萨斯基亚(Saskia)还曾担任过认证反洗钱专家协会(ACAMS)的创始执行董事。

Ask the Expert: Q&A with Sanctions Specialist Saskia Rietbroek


In the first part of our ‘Ask the Expert’ series, we ask Saskia Rietbroek, Executive Director of the Association of Certified Sanctions Specialists (ACSS), about the complexity of navigating the 2019 sanctions landscape.

What is driving the increased use of sanctions?

Sanctions are essential tools employed by governments in order to achieve certain foreign policy goals and set an example to the world. Sanctions can help governments advance respect for human rights, safeguard democratic institutions, and protect the financial system from illicit financial flows.

As the world continues to shrink, connections and financial interactions become all the more important. Sanctions carry an important message to corrupt officials, criminals and terrorists: if you continue to flout international law, there will be consequences, including being cut off from the U.S. and EU financial systems.

Which countries or groups of countries are most active?

The United Nations Security Council is very active in imposing sanctions, however, in terms of enforcement, it is a paper tiger. It cannot impose penalties for non-compliance. The enforcement of its regimes is done at the national level.

The U.S. and EU are very active on the sanctions front, with the U.S. particularly active on enforcement. U.S. sanctions are imposed by Presidential Executive Order, and unlike many European leaders, the U.S. President has the direct power to influence foreign policy with just the stroke of a pen.

Do you believe sanctions can work?

Yes. Among the sanctioned people that you cannot do business with, there are criminals such as Weapons of Mass Destructions (WMD) proliferators and drug traffickers. We must keep in mind that crime is driven by one thing and one thing only: money. The amounts are staggering. All that cash does no good stored in stash houses or suitcases; criminals have to move it and spend it. Sanctions can make it more difficult for them to do so. Banks can flag their names and freeze the money. There are also hefty prison terms.

Is there a good enough understanding of sanctions in financial services?

It is not an easy topic and the landscape can change overnight. It’s hard to keep up. There are plenty of examples of deficiencies in the programmes at financial institutions. Compliance officers have told us “it’s like swimming upstream, it’s hard to keep up with sanctions.” This is one of the reasons that we launched the Association of Certified Sanctions Specialists to offer them the support, resources and best practices they need to do their vital jobs.

What are the main loopholes in sanctions today?

Offshore companies are great to hide behind. The recent case involving Mr. Sadr, sometimes referred to as “the Bill Gates of Iran”, shows this. Last year, he was indicted in the Southern District of New York for sanctions and other violations. He allegedly took steps to hide the role of Iranian parties when sending money through the U.S. financial system. According to the indictment, he used UAE, BVI and Turkish front companies. These companies then opened bank accounts in Switzerland and the U.S. Fifteen payments involving $115M went through.

Finally, I think that unilateral sanctions are less effective than multilateral sanctions. If only one country is imposing sanctions on a group, the money will go elsewhere. Sanctioned money is like water, it follows the path of least resistance.

What can financial services firms do to close loopholes?

Due to recent guidance from enforcement agencies, such as OFAC’s 50% Rule, sanctions compliance has evolved from pure name screening to more involved customer due diligence (CDD). The guidance says that even if a company is not on the blacklist, it can be designated because of its ownership by a designated entity. Financial institutions conduct CDD on entities to determine who owns them. It’s not an easy task. Sometimes it’s like peeling an onion – sanctioned persons will hide behind many layers of corporate veils.

How is the use of sanctions changing in a technology-based world?

What we see now is that designated persons (those subject to an asset freeze) can use virtual currencies to try to stay under the radar. For a bank or credit card company, in some instances, involvement with designated persons and sanctioned activities may be more difficult to detect when cryptocurrencies are involved.  Citizens from countries such as Cuba or Iran, who are prohibited from obtaining credit or debit cards for international use, may switch to cryptocurrencies to shop online or for other business transactions. It is a way to be able to conduct transactions that otherwise couldn’t happen.

On the other hand, sanctioned individuals first need to get access to cryptocurrencies. Most transactions go through centralised exchanges which do sanctions screening, so it is difficult for sanctioned individuals to get access to crypto in the first place.

About Saskia Rietbroek, Executive Director, Association of Certified Sanctions Specialists (ACSS):

Saskia is an industry leader in financial crime topics, with over 15 years of experience in the U.S., Latin America and Europe. Her global footprint enables her to apply valuable expertise and insight into international training and financial crime compliance projects. Previously, Saskia was the founding executive director of another industry group, the Association of Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialists (ACAMS).