Accuity研究:手工流程和高质量数据的缺乏是中国金融机构面临的最大挑战


中国的金融机构在继续大力降低洗钱和恐怖主义融资风险,但来自国内和国际监管机构的监管压力日益增加,制裁和政治公众人物(PEP)数量的激增令中国金融机构承受了沉重负担。

此外,金融机构还面临着更加严厉的反洗钱违规处罚。截至2018年,中国人民银行已对未能进行适当的客户身份识别、保存客户数据和交易记录,以及报告大额或可疑交易的金融机构处以人民币70万元至1,000万元不等的罚款。

尽管目前已取得一些进展,但差距依旧存在。2019年6月的国际货币基金组织(IMF)报告对此有所提及,其中审查了金融机构对金融行动特别工作组(FATF)的40条反洗钱建议的遵守情况。各大金融机构似乎知晓他们在反洗钱和打击资助恐怖主义(AML/CFT)方面的义务,但并不能有效理解这些金融犯罪的全部风险和敞口。因此,他们未能采用与已识别风险类型相称的“风险为本”的方法。国际货币基金组织报告还提到了持续尽职调查和受益所有权透明度方面的薄弱环节。

为了深入了解更多信息,Accuity针对中国主要银行的合规和反洗钱专业人士展开了一项调查。调查结果突显了合规筛查的情况和流程,以及金融机构面临的挑战和正在采取的应对措施。

识别合规挑战

60%的受访者表示,重复查验/手工流程是合规筛查流程面临的首要挑战。高质量参考外部数据的缺乏和工作时间的延长是并列第二的挑战,各有44%的受访者持此观点。

对人工流程的依赖——这表明自动化程度较低——以及可靠外部数据的缺乏是导致受访者指出的其他“下游”挑战的重要基础问题:多重查验、更长的工作时间、难以执行内部合规政策,以及缺乏可解释性审计记录。

搜索高质量数据

收集关键的参考数据越来越难,特别是在制裁和政治公众人物的数量日益增多的情况下。据Accuity观察,总体而言,在过去五年时间里,仅仅是美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)的制裁记录数量就已增加36.6%,主要监管机构在2019年对经济制裁进行了242次更新。其中包括英国财政部(HMT)、联合国(UN)、欧盟(EU)和美国财政部海外资产控制办公室(OFAC)。

参考数据收集变得愈发困难的另外一个因素就是缺乏对政治公众人物和相应数据库的权威定义。由此一来,金融机构发现,各类政治公众人物参考名单并非总是一致的。不同监管机构发布的制裁名单同样如此。事实上,国际货币基金组织报告中提到了全面参考数据的缺乏,近一半受访者节重申了这一问题。

当被问到哪些参考数据最能增强KYC(了解你的客户)甄别时,并不让人感到奇怪的是,67%的受访者表示最需要制裁和政治公众人物名单。中国人民银行发布的反洗钱和反恐融资名单紧随其后,64%的受访者持此观点。获取高质量数据是进行有效KYC甄别的关键所在。

掌握受益所有人

由于必须收集最终受益所有人(UBO)信息,金融机构需要筛查更多名字,而很多金融机构正在这样做。Accuity调查覆盖的近三分之二的金融机构正在对代理银行和企业客户的最终受益所有人进行筛查,这表明他们更加积极地在他们的客户数据库中加强尽职调查。

不过,收集最终受益所有人信息是低效和耗时的。数据需要从多个来源收集,包括客户、公共数据库、内部研究和第三方提供商。银行需要考虑对所有权结构进行研究和人工比对所需的时间,以及使用相关资源成本。

弥补差距

调查显示,金融机构不仅知晓这些挑战,还了解他们的反洗钱和反恐融资筛查系统需要做出的改进。

尽管近60%的受访者认为实施自动持续筛查解决方案是推动反洗钱和反恐融资措施需要做出的首要改进,但在其他改进方面达成的共识却少得多。提高筛查的准确度(包括为高风险账户和支付设置警报)、更好的审计跟踪/记录保存、改进工作流程和减少误报都是密切相关的。

受访者在调查中指出的很多需要做出的改变都是相互关联的,可以通过自动筛查大为改进。

如需深入了解中国的银行专业人士目前面临的反洗钱和KYC合规挑战的更多信息,请下载信息图

Accuity Study: Manual Processes and Lack of Quality Data Biggest Challenges for Financial Institutions in China


Increasing regulatory pressure from domestic and international regulators as well as an explosion in the number of sanctions and politically exposed persons (PEPs) are among the issues weighing heavily on financial institutions in China as they continue to ramp up efforts to mitigate the risk of money laundering and terrorist financing.

Institutions are also facing more significant penalties for anti-money laundering (AML) violations. As of 2018, People’s Bank of China (PBOC) has fined financial institutions ranging from 700,000 yuan to 10 million yuan for failing to perform proper customer identification checks, keeping customer data and transaction records, and reporting large or suspicious transactions.

While some progress has been made, gaps still remain. This was noted in the June 2019 International Monetary Fund (IMF) report, which reviews compliance with the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) 40 Recommendations. Institutions appear to grasp their obligations regarding anti-money laundering and combating the financing of terrorism (AML/CFT), but don’t always understand the full risks and exposures of these financial crimes. As a result, they fail to apply a “risk-based approach” that is commensurate with the type of risk identified. The IMF report also cited weaknesses in ongoing due diligence and transparency in beneficial ownership.

To gain further insights, Accuity conducted a survey with the leading banks’ compliance and AML professionals in China. Results of the survey highlighted the compliance screening issues, processes, and challenges financial institutions are facing and the steps they are taking to respond.

Identifying compliance challenges

60% of survey respondents cited repeated checks/manual processes as the number one challenge in the compliance screening process. Lack of quality reference data and extended working hours were the next most-cited challenges and were tied at 44%.

The reliance on manual processes – which indicates a lack of automation – and absence of dependable reference data are significant foundational issues that contribute to the other “downstream” challenges highlighted by respondents: multiple checks, longer working hours, difficulty in implementing internal compliance policies, and lack of an audit trail for explainability.

The search for quality data

Gathering critical reference data is increasingly difficult, particularly with sanctions and PEP lists growing daily. Accuity observed that, overall, there has been a 36.6% increase in just OFAC sanctions record counts in the last five years, with 242 updates from major regulators in economic sanctions in 2019. These included Her Majesty’s Treasury (HMT) in the UK, the United Nations (UN), the European Union (EU), and OFAC.

Another issue compounding the difficulty of gathering reference data is the lack of an authoritative definition of a PEP and corresponding database. As a result, financial institutions are finding that various reference lists of PEPs don’t always align. This holds true as well for sanctions published by disparate issuing bodies. In fact, the lack of comprehensive reference data was noted in the IMF report and reiterated as an issue by nearly half of survey respondents.

When asked which reference data sets would most enhance Know Your Customer (KYC) screening, it’s not surprising that 67% of respondents said sanctions and PEP lists were the most needed. AML/CFT lists by the People’s Bank of China followed closely with a 64% response. Access to quality data is the critical foundation for effective KYC screening.

Shedding light on beneficial owners

With the requirement of collecting information on ultimate beneficial owners (UBO), financial institutions have more names to be screened, and many are doing that. Nearly two-thirds of institutions in the Accuity survey screen UBOs of correspondent banks and corporate customers, demonstrating that they are being more aggressive in applying enhanced due diligence across their customer database.

However, collecting UBO information is inefficient and time consuming. Data needs to be gathered from multiple sources, including customers, public databases, in-house research and third-party providers. Banks need to consider the hours of research and manual mapping of financial ownership structures as well as the associated resource costs involved in collecting UBO information.

Plugging the gap

The survey showed that financial institutions are not just well aware of the challenges, but they also understand the improvements that need to be made to their AML/CFT screening systems.

Although nearly 60% of respondents felt that implementing an automated ongoing screening solution was the primary improvement needed to boost AML/CFT measures, there was far less agreement on other changes. Enhancing screening accuracy (including setting alerts for high-risk accounts and payments), having a better audit trail/record keeping, improving workflow and reducing false positives were all closely aligned.

Many of the needed changes respondents identified in the survey are interrelated and can be greatly improved with automated screening.

Download the infographic for further insight into the current AML and KYC compliance challenges of banking professionals in China.